Oxfordshire


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Oxfordshire » Oxford
June 23rd 2003
Published: June 23rd 2003
Edit Blog Post

I have now gone through almost a rite of passage here, in one day I went to a cream tea (yum! The vanilla tea and scones complemented each other quite well.) then later on hit a pub called the Lamb and Flag. I liked the L&F a lot, students conversing, and laid back environment. Managed to get myself in a conversation comparing the British Empire to American Imperialism.
Oxfordshire ( the Oxford area) has some gorgeous rivers (I’d call them streams, they call them rivers) and canals, so I did a bunch of the walk/hikes around the meadows and streams, which I enjoyed a great deal.
I went out to Blenheim Palace for a day. What a huge place! All the Rosenblatt’s (my mom’s large extended family for those who don’t know) could take up residence there, and there would still be some room to spare. The palace was cool, btu the grounds were amazing. A huge man made lake, gardens of different types ( like a water garden) a small waterfall. A day well spent!
I also went out to the Cotswalds for a whole day. Everything out there is old, like 400-500 years old is a new building. I saw stone shingles, and huge stone buildings, some in excellent condition and others in ruin. Every little town has two things: a church and a pub. Those seem to be the qualifications for an English village.
The Cotswalds were pretty, but the drizzle kept me from taking to many photos. I have total of 70 before my 2nd card is full, but we will all have to wait until Wday to see them.

I have been drooling over some of the cars as many of you would expect. Yesterday alone I saw 2 Morgans, 1 late model Elan (it said élan on it, but looked under 10 years old… what was the last model year for the Elan), 1 very old élan (pre 69 I believe, the front lights were a different shape when popped up) 1 Elise (yes dad, I took a photo) and a bunch of new MG’s. Those are just the British cars. (I saw a brand new Ferrari also) The Elise is one of the prettiest cars and most distinct looking cars I have seen in a long time.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.045s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb