Robin Hood In Nottingham but no Sherwood Forest


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Nottinghamshire » Nottingham
August 1st 2009
Published: August 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Today I headed down South to Nottingham with some friends. One of my friends was meeting his dad for the first time in 30 years and we went for moral support. We ended up at Nottingham Castle (where the tale of Robin Hood took place) and the city of Nottingham. We had lunch in a converted Cathedral, which is now a restaurant/night club. It was quite strange eating a meal while looking at stained glass and flying buttresses. My goal was to see the Sherwood Forest (which I have heard consists of about 5 nearly dead trees). I ended up forgetting all about the silly forest after walking around Maid Maryanne Way and dining in the Church of England. The Castle had a museum inside, which of course led to some very silly pictures.

My friend returned after spending quite a few hours with his new found dad and we proceeded to the Old Square which would have been quite charming had there not been a large carnival going on.

As my 5th summer here at TASIS is beginning to end, I am planning my annual day out alone in London tomorrow. I enjoy hopping on the tube and getting off at random stops. The names are so charming ... as I have been to so many places in London now, it's difficult for me to wander off into a new part of the city.

I am beginning to start thinking about my trip to Austria, Germany and Liechtenstein. And finally of course, my job in Switzerland. We have 10 students in our class and 6 teachers. Should be quite interesting 😊



Additional photos below
Photos: 42, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



2nd August 2009

sherwood forest
sounds like a great trip..i am now curious about sherwood forest now.... have a great rest of your trip..summer is zipping by

Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0795s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb