MY 40TH ENTRY!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » North Yorkshire » York
November 25th 2011
Published: November 27th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Happy Thanksgiving!

This year, I've told the story of the First Thanksgiving more times than I've told it in the rest of my life combined, I think. At least since I was about 8. I can't say I miss the turkey all that much, but it was still strange to go to class, especially since Thursday is the longest day for us.

My coursemates made me a card! It is beautiful and hand made, with Thanksgiving and general-American themed pictures glued all over it (my personal favorites are Captain America and the cat and dog in First Thanksgiving costumes) and everyone signed it! Apparently it was a complicated and time-consuming endeavor, so thank you guys so much. I don't think I can explain how much it meant to me.

Our US/UK Mix-Up of the week happened on Friday morning when a conversation with a coursemate led me to ask if they have Goldfish in the UK (I haven't seen it in stores anywhere). The short answer is no, but at the time I neglected to mention that by "Goldfish" I meant the snack, not the animal. So my coursemate said "yes" with more than a little "duh" in her voice.

So I started singing the Jingle for Goldfish. Americans, you know the one: "...the wholesome snack that smiles back until you bite their heads off..."

There were a few seconds of silence.

Then my coursemate said, "Is Goldfish a brand name for something?"

And I realized what she thought I meant/was singing about. We giggled for quite a while once we got that sorted.

Brits and Potatoes: Goldfish is a wonderful snack food of cheesy deliciousness and I have added it to my list of things to bring back after Christmas. You're welcome in advance.




Finally, the Christmas Markets I've been yammering on about. They've started here in Newcastle, different stalls with Belgian fudge and French pastries and Dutch pancakes (did not know that was a thing) and Russian dolls and wood and metal crafts from everywhere...very cool to see. The street above (and the rest of the pictures) is in York, which is about an hour south by train and absolutely gorgeous. I've been there in the summertime, but seeing the streets all decorated for Christmas was a real treat.



The York Minster. Like the Durham Cathedral, it is massive and gorgeous. Unlike the Durham Cathedral, we were allowed to take pictures inside. So here.













I've said before that it's incredible to wander around these places with a choir rehearsing in the background. This time there was a men's choir singing Gospel songs and Christmas Carols. It wasn't quite the solemn, spiritual experience of before, but it was still really nice.




The street picture at the top of the page is part of what's called "The Shambles," a section of the city with old-fashioned narrow, winding streets and old buildings smushed together. We followed it down to the marketplace. This weekend the Christmas Market had a 19th century theme. Honestly I wouldn't have noticed aside from the fact that most of the sellers were in top hats or long gowns.




We got a bag of roasted chestnuts (again, did not know people really did that - did I just not notice them selling these at home?) and they were really good. The craft tables were beautiful, and I bought a Christmas present for someone who reads this blog. But I'm not telling who.




My coursemate, who went to York University as an undergrad, came with me and it was really fun to hear about her time there. At the market, there was a stand with wood crafts that they inscribed for free, and she got the woman to write something in the IPA. Was very exciting (in a linguistics dork sort of way) for us. I think the woman was quite proud as well.







Back up the Shambles. That's my coursemate at the bottom of the picture. When we got to this intersection, it was completely clear. Yet as soon as we were ready to take a picture, everyone in town seemed to decide to walk between us. We honestly waited for 4 cars and at least two groups of people before we could take this.



The York Minster at night. Still magnificent.




My coursemate to scale.

I seem to have only posted the pictures I took of her, and none of me. So...




There is an "American style" Diner by the train station in Newcastle. They serve a few American beers, one of which happens to be my favorite. But most Newcastle bars don't serve local Boston beers for some reason, so this was a rare treat for me.

All in all a FANTASTIC weekend.

Advertisement



27th November 2011

Christine's roommate made roasted chestnuts for her Thanksgiving potluck and they had chestnuts for sale in Shaws, but I really don't remember seeing roasted chestnuts before this year. Glad you got your Sam Adams beer!
27th November 2011

PS
Your blog was a nice thing to read while I wait for the bus that I should've caught half an hour ago but it was several minutes AHEAD of schedule! Don't know if it applies to this situation but I bet you're glad you haven't had to write FUMBTA in a while :)
28th November 2011

I'll give you potatoes...
Eoghan's in knots at the goldfish thing. It nearly pushed him over the edge when I told him you were a veggie:) I have to say I laughed myself... Very jealous of your York photos! Apparently Egbert, Wilfred and Chad are talked about by Bede. (I 'd never have had the name 'Chad' down for an Anglo-Saxon name btw...)

Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0589s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb