The Data Sessions


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » North Yorkshire » York
July 16th 2011
Published: July 16th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Friday and Saturday were dedicated to a Postgraduate and Early Careers Workshops. For these two days we were split into two groups - one with Tanya Stivers (my group) and one with John Heritage (the other group). Our group also had Paul Drew, which was very cool. On Friday, one of the participants was unable to make it, so I was able to swap my session from last on Saturday to last on Friday. My data session went very well and I think was the 'high' of the three 'presentations' I had given over the last two weeks. Friday night was quiet - dinner on campus, talking through my PhD corrections with Maria and hanging out in my room.

Saturday's sessions were good and we'd really started to work well as a group. As my session had been moved to Friday, the last session was devoted to a general discussion with Tanya and Paul which was a really great to wrap up the two days. One of the other participants, Lisa, and I rushed back up to our accommodation to pick up our bags and get a taxi to the train station. We got there with plenty of time - I even bought two cornish pasties for my trip.

The train was running about five minutes late, but it made that time up on the seemingly quick two hour journey to London. I simply read my 'book' (on kindle app for iPad) most of the way! At Kings Cross I then found the taxi rank and hopped in a taxi to take me to Earls Court. The driver was particularly chatty, but I actually didn't mind it. It was nice just to talk about the weather, holidays and families for a little while.

I got to the hotel, and after the few stairs at the front was glad to find there was a lift inside... a very very pokey lift, I might add. The room is tiny (I've stayed in bigger in hostels). Not 100% happy as the sheets were stained and the room is very warm, but the bathroom looks okay and it's in a good location. Not worth what I'm paying though, which is always annoying, even if it is only for two nights.

Advertisement



16th July 2011

postscript
I forgot to mention my late second dinner at Gourmet Burger Kitchen. The burger was ok, but the guy who talked to me for 30 minutes was a little annoying. Though we talked about language and communication, so that wasn't too bad!
16th July 2011

postscript
I forgot to mention my late second dinner at Gourmet Burger Kitchen. The burger was ok, but the guy who talked to me for 30 minutes was a little annoying. Though we talked about language and communication, so that wasn't too bad!

Tot: 0.171s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0937s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb