Pause for thought


Advertisement
Published: October 31st 2005
Edit Blog Post

Today, about 60 people were killed and over 200 injured in 3 explosions in New Delhi. It seems likely that a terrorist group associated with the conflict in Kashmir is to blame. One of the explosions occurred in Paharganj, where there is a popular market as well as a large number of hotels and cafes catering to the backpacker community. Crowds of people were browsing the many market stalls, buying devotional items in preparation for two upcoming major Hindu and Muslim festivals.

The hotel for my first 4 nights in India is in the Paharganj area. Following the principle of lightning not striking twice, I'm inclined not to be worried about this. I'm sure the atmosphere of the area, if not the city, will be different though.

Advertisement



6th December 2005

Strike lucky!
Did lightening strike again?
14th December 2005

Fortunately not - though I'll be in Delhi several more times before I return to the UK, so I'm not counting my chickens just yet ...

Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 34; dbt: 0.0252s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb