what am i doing here


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
April 4th 2005
Published: April 4th 2005
Edit Blog Post

OK. I’m finally here! I took a while but I made it. I left the family at Melbourne airport at about 1.45pm Sunday 3rd April. Silly me, I didn’t do the proper turn around and wave as you go through the silver doors. Oh well. Also, silly me, I forgot to say “I love you and I’ll miss you”. So I’m saying it now. A bit delayed but oh well. Got through customs fine, wandered around duty free for a bit, then finally my plane was called. I was absolutely fine until I was walking down the walkway bit. Then I thought “what on earth am I doing”. I got so scared then. A few deep breaths and I was fine. Flight to KL was good. Movies - Bride and Prejudice (absolutely shocking, don’t bother), The Incredibles (so not a kids movie, I was scared half the time), and Meet the Fockers (pretty funny but not as good as the first one, a bit re-hashed). My seat was in the very last row, very full flight. Got to KL, wandered around trying to find the funky couches (apparently they’re U shaped) but I couldn’t. Found a quiet upstairs area near my departure gate and then I absolutely bawled my eyes out for about half an hour! I don’t think I like travelling alone. I was OK after a little bit though. Eventually got on the flight from KL to Heathrow. It was OK, I probably got about 4 hours sleep, very interrupted though, having an aisle seat. Full flight again so I couldn’t move. They don’t stop feeding you, all at strange times though. Arrived in London at about 6.30 by the time I got through customs. Jumped on a train about 15 mins later, went to my hotel, dropped off my bags, but not able to check in yet. I left the hotel at about 9am, wandered around, trying to find where my interview was to be at 11.30. Got there at about 10.15, went to Starbucks (there are thousands of them here), killed some time, then went to my interview at about 11am (a bit early, but it was fine). That all went well, except that I had to have another couple of blood tests and vaccinations which I didn’t know about. That’s all done ($200 later!!). I checked in with Vodafone and my number is 00447747522706 including the international codes. Now here I am sitting in the library writing this. It’s 1.46pm and I still haven’t had lunch. I had breakfast at 3am!!!
London is a strange place. Whilst I was wandering this morning, I asked for directions and I was told that I was in central London. The office buildings could be homes/apartments, there are no sky scrapers. The buildings are dull and 8 stories high at the max. some of the buildings eg churches are really nice, but on the whole, they’re grey concrete blocks. The sky has been grey all day. Drizzled most of the day (I got soaked whilst wandering). The people all wear grey/black and they all look depressed. No wonder! Anyway, I’d better go and get some lunch and the check in to my hotel, then … I don’t know what!! I love you and I’m missing you all already!!


Advertisement



4th April 2005

Dear Miss Liss , Chin up camper ! Once your on that bus touring the Continent you'll soon forget all your old chums back here ( yes you will start talking like an Engerlander after one day there ) . My advice try and find a good donut shop . Weather here: Cold and Miserable . - Anon E Mouse
4th April 2005

Great to hear from you!!!
It was so good to hear from you - I was crying and laughing all at once!! We have been thinking about you and wondering how you are going. You'll get used to things and once you're on the tour things should be a bit easier! Enjoy and yes we love you and miss you too!! - Kylie
4th April 2005

Great to hear from you Lis
Thanks for the message Lis - I was laughing and crying all at once!! - Kylie

Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0507s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb