First Day of Classes


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Lincolnshire » Grantham
September 2nd 2013
Published: September 2nd 2013
Edit Blog Post

After two weeks of Eastern being back at school, it was finally time to have my first day of classes abroad! It started off an early morning as all the roommates and I woke up at 7:30 in order to make it to breakfast before it closed the doors. All 150 plus students at Harlaxton had the first British Studies lecture at 8:30. We sat in the gorgeous Long Gallery and tried to keep up with the British Lecturer Mr. Baker. As time went by students continued to type quickly on their laptops trying to keep up with the lecture and not staring off at the beautiful room around us. It helped knowing all of our teachers sit in the back of the room to make sure we did not creep on facebook.

After my first lecture of British Studies that is required by Harlaxton College for all students, I made my way down the stairs into the basement and through a long, stone corridor to my next class; British Studies Seminar. This class is basically to help us refocus on parts of the lecture discussed in the morning along with adding some more additional information on the history of the United Kingdom, Britain, or England. It is still hard to really distinguish which term is the correct one to use. We learned some people here will be offended if you call them British or English.

I then went back to the first lecture room I was in and began my next class, the Fundamentals of Biology. Lucky for me, I have not finished my science gen ed at Eastern but this class will be the last science class I will ever have to take! Great news for an Art Major! The Fundamentals of Biology will focus on the main points in the study of biology. This class is taught by Dr. Jonas, who is an American Teacher from Texas that came with a few of his students this semester. Many of the schools that are represented through Harlaxton has a faculty member also teaching at Harlaxton. Unfortunately, Eastern does not have this faculty member.

Although I only had three classes today, my work load is not light at all. Every class came back with homework to complete by the next session and the British Studies class gave us our Presentation topic along with our person to research for our 2,000 word term paper. Whoever said study aborad would be an easy experience never came to Harlaxton.

Tomorrow I only have one class but probably the one I am most excited about, Psychology 405. This class will focus on Stereotypes and Prejudice along with completing my minor in Psychology! This brings me one step closer to graduation in December 2014 but lets get through this crazy semester first!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0444s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb