24 Days and Counting...


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Kent » Royal Tunbridge Wells
January 7th 2013
Published: January 7th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Tentative Route

Flight from Heathrow to Delhi Flight From Delhi to Yangon and from Yangon to Bangkok. Flight home from Bangkok Potential flight from Bangkok to Columbo.

I have 24 days until I begin my journey to India. This post is a test-run to check out how I'm going to use this blog to keep everyone updated.

So far I've had 3 vaccinations, collected about 150 antimalarial pills, bought half my equipment, planned my route (loosely), got my Indian visa and booked my hotel for the first night I will spend in the centre of Delhi.

Unhappily, I still need to sort out:


• Cash cards and Traveler's Cheques
• The rest of my equipment
• Other flights and visas in Asia
• Travel insurance
• International driving permit


This all takes quite a bit of shopping around and research which, when I'm still working around 40 hours a week, is taking more time than I'd anticipated.

Logistically, my route is a pain in the arse. India to Nepal is a piece of cake, but my hopes to overland to Thailand were quashed with the all-but sealed borders of Burma/Myanmar at both ends.

Anyway, I'll post this and see how it looks, and then hopefully the next update will be considerably more interesting!

Advertisement



10th February 2013

Opening gambits.
Always interesting and good English prose . Keep it up . I look forward to each instalment.

Tot: 0.209s; Tpl: 0.04s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1065s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb