A Canterbury Tale


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Kent » Canterbury
January 24th 2006
Published: January 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Canterbury CathedralCanterbury CathedralCanterbury Cathedral

First view from the gates
Ahoy!

Today's fun: I went to Canterbury today and had a great time! There are lots of interesting shops and little windy streets; a wandering pedestrians dream. Did a bit of shopping and stopped for lunch and tea at Poppins (c'mon, I had to go because of the name... it said "Pop-in for a bite". I love the UK), then went to the Canterbury Cathedral.

The Cathedral was absolutely amazing. I hardly know how to put to words how I felt about it. It was just an amazing experience, awe inspiring and beautiful and it really hit something in me. I don't mean to sound weird about it but it was sort of an emotional experience. I don't really get that way about churches and stuff normally. It's not that it was a religious experience for me, it was just a sense of staggering history and peace and wonder and I sat for a while and got in touch with myself a bit. It's not like I felt a Divine Presence or anything, it was not like that. It was just beautiful and amazing and very very peaceful, it's an amazing place. I sat on the stairs in the nave for a while and I sorted out some stuff in my mind that has needed sorting for a while and felt very good about myself after. I was at the Cathedral for about 3 hours total, and filled up my camera (74 photos!). I won't put them all up, but I'll still have to put up a fair few.

Tomorrow morning I'm going to take a train to London... Jason's a lifesaver and is going to give me a lift to the station. I get there around 9am, spend the day wandering around taking a bajillion pictures (or 74, whichever comes first) and at 10:30 that evening I hop a bus to Glasgow, Scotland. I arrive around 7 in the morning, hopefully I'll be able to catch a few Z's that night. Long day tomorrow, in any case. I have to say goodbye to Alice's family though 😞 It's been such a great stay, and I'm going to miss them all. Such a fun house! I'm going to miss monkeying around with the boys. Esther and Jason have been so nice, helping out with everything so much and letting me stay with them, helping me get around too, I'm so fortunate to have been able to stay with them. Goodbyes are rotten!

England has been fun. It's bizarre to drive, everything backwards, even just watching traffic has me jumpy because I keep thinking the cars are going to crash into each other. It's very wierd, don't know how I'm going to get used to it. The roundabouts seem quite efficient, fewer stops while driving (Chris, you'd love it). I was on a double decker bus and nearly was queasy, maybe it was just the road but it was very bouncy and sway-ey and made my stomach tie itself in knots. The streets seem a lot like Maastricht, except I didn't see any cobblestone and some of the shops have shorter front entrances, very (what an outsider would think to be) British looking, gee who'dve thunk? Everyone seems friendly, no trouble asking for directions or anything. Shops seemed very much the same as Holland too. I'm looking forward to my day in London tomorrow; I'm going to see all the typical stuff, changing of the guards, some of the bigger museums, that sort of thing. I have a route picked out to start off on. I'd love to go to a Beatles museum, if they have such a thing! If they don't, they really ought to.

Going to call some people at home though (a certain cupcake of 24 carats) and then have an early night, long day tomorrow. Take care everyone! Cheers!

Drinking loads of yummy tea,
~Bev


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



25th January 2006

Did you know?
Of course when you were in the Canterbury Catherdral you did look-up one of your descendants A Story who was one of the Arch-Bishops of Cantebury! If you do get to see any exibits on William Cromwell you will look to see who one of his chief advisors was, you guessed it a Story.
25th January 2006

Hi Bev
I'm happy to be on your blog, thank you for updating it so often! Your photos are just beautiful, Bev, especially the sky shots. I love this Canterbury sunset. Thank you and love from Jayne.
27th January 2006

We love the pics Bev- awsome
Hey darren and i want to know what camera your using???You take awsome pics and now we are contemplating going there ourselves very soon... ps can we get some of those pics when you get home?? Say hi to the Spencers when your there, they are Darrens relatives,,yes as in Dianna Spencer....

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0383s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb