St. Albans and Kubrick


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Hertfordshire
September 3rd 2007
Published: September 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

I am currently trying to find something to do on my last day in St. Albans. This small town is great, offers a lot of tourist attractions, and the whole nine yards - unfortunately I've unable to find a suitable pub 😞

I will write an entry once I get to Linkoping, Sweden. I just wanted to let everyone know how much of a thrill the Kubrick painting course really was.

We spent Saturday and Sunday painting from 10am till 5pm. I'll tell you right now, painting is a complicated and energy consuming art form. I was completely tired after the day was over (the jet lag didn't help either), but once I got to my room around 6pm in St. Albans, I went straight to bed. I think I'm all set for Sweden now - bring on the beer!

I met Christiane and Katriana Kubrick (who are both extraordinary painters), and obviously the other students who attended the course this past weekend. Everyone was so nice, Finn (one of the students) even gave me a ride back to St. Albans on both days. I'll tell you all about the first day once I get to Sweden, but the second day, for me, was something I'll never forget.

Paula (who attends to the Kubricks' daily affairs and who has been working for them for 15 years) offered me a ride to the estate on the second day. She told me about 'nuts' who take Christiane's painting course just in order to see Stanley's grave - which was quite shocking - and unfortunate because Christiane is the nicest lady I've ever met. It's sickening to see people who have no control over their passions. Paula mentioned to Christiane that I was fond of Stanley's work - and that said, Christiane asked me if I wanted to see his grave, and subsequently the manor itself, since he's buried in his own backyard.

With great pleasure, and the unique opportunity that I was given, I took it, and took a few pictures, took a couple of minutes, and went back to the painting. Paula even told me that Christiane allowed me to see his grave, because I didn't persist, and I respected his privacy - and hers to some extent. Another great thing, was that I'm one of the only students who has ever seen his grave - which makes me feel very special, and thrilled that I saw Stanley's final resting place.

Talk to you in Sweden.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.052s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb