Steve's Camp


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Herefordshire » Hereford
June 10th 2008
Published: June 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi Folks !

Following two or three days of inactivity through a rather dull period of weather I have been active once more as the sun has been shinning for the past week or so.

Thought you might like to see my home from home …. Two tents …. one very small in which I keep my ‘stuff’ - cookers (I have three), gas bottles, loo, generator, dirty clothes ….. To erect this tent you simply open the bag, take the tent out and throw it in the air - it lands fully erect. All you then have to do is peg the sides and guy lines - easy. However I would not want to sleep in it as it does not seem to be weather proof. I think this is what young people call a festival tent. The main tent is altogether much more professional although it has a ‘quick erect’ system so if I have packed it properly it usually only takes fifteen minutes to have it fully assembled and pegged out. It has a separate sleeping compartment which is very comfortable and large enough to allow the stowage of some gear. The rest of my stuff (which seems to be mostly food / cooking utensils and battery charging devices) is placed around the sides of the second compartment which leaves a reasonable amount of room in which to do whatever it is you wish to do !!!!! In pleasant weather I sit outside until late evening - as now.

You can see from the other camping picture that the camping field is not overcrowded - thank goodness. As I look out over my domain which is perhaps the size of three football pitches there are just four tents … it was busy at the weekend with eight. Obviously during the holidays it would be a little more crowded - and I would not be here !

The facilities (WC / shower / washing machine / tumble dryer / ironing board (eh ???) / dish washing and the like) are 2-3 minutes walk. Obviously I could be closer but that would be a far less quiet part of the camp site. I say camp site although there are perhaps sixty caravans and mobile homes on the main part of the site.

Campers in the main are a friendly bunch and take a friendly but not intrusive interest in what their neighbours are doing. Most seem curious as to my life style - and some distinctly envious. The caravanners are quite different as I guess you would expect. The campsite manager comments on the amount of television aerials and satellite dishes and wonders why people bother to leave home … if you walk past the caravans you are likely to be serenaded by Coronation Street, Eastenders and the like….. I have to say that I do not miss television although of course I did book into a B&B to watch the European Cup Final !!!!

Hope you are all well

Steve


Advertisement



Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0592s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb