Preparation.


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Hampshire » Hythe
February 22nd 2012
Published: February 22nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hello there!

So today is Wednesday 22nd February and today I had the last of the injections I was advised to have before travelling. All together I've had Hepatitis A, Typhoid, Tetanus/Diphtheria/Polio and two Japanese encephalitis injections. I'm due to start taking my malaria medication on Sunday, as that will be exactly two weeks before I leave!

I am also fully equipped with a brand new backpack and sleeping bag, and I've been gradually stocking up on the essentials... sun cream, mosquito spray, international mobile and SIM card... I even have a 'travel towel', which is really thin and feels more like fleecing than an absorbent towel?! Oh well, I'll find out how practical it is soon enough I suppose!

Earlier this month Sam and I took a trip to London and stayed at the Shaftesbury Premier Inn at Queensway, it was a lovely hotel, and we found the room on lastminute.com for £75 which is amazing considering the location/rating. We went out to a Belgian restaurant I found a few years ago, 'Belgo' (the best one is in Covent Garden, but they were fully-booked so we went to the one at Holburn instead) and then moved on to my favourite cocktail bar in Islington, 'Slim Jim's Liquor Store'. The next day we did typical tourist-y type things... we walked across Kensington Gardens to the Albert Memorial, the gardens were so pretty as it has snowed the night before and the lake had frozen. We also visited The Science Mueseum, The National History Mueseum and The Tate Modern. We even had time for a quick visit to the British Film Institute and two bottles of wine before heading back to Southampton. I've attached a couple of photos of us messing around. We don't have any normal photos I'm afraid!

I only have three days left at work now. This week I'm working Thursday, Friday and Saturday... then that's it! Hurrah! I can't wait to escape retail, even if it's only for 5 months.

Will update again soon, folks.

- Streets.

x


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0304s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb