Gunga- Ms. Patience is our friend


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
May 1st 2014
Published: May 1st 2014
Edit Blog Post

My son used the mantra "Mr. Patience is our friend" with his kids when they were younger. It is a good mantra for us all to remember in so many of our daily interactions. So, I ask you, is waiting sixteen years to see a loved painting an exercise in patience or lunacy? You be the judge.

In 1998 an exhibit of John Singer Sargent paintings from all over the world came to, not one but two, museums in Massachusetts. One showing was at the Clark Museum, a gem of a small sweet museum in Williamstown, MA. I have no idea how they were able to pull this coup off. The Clark ( google it and if you are ever in Western MA be sure to add it to your itinerary) is noted for its amazing collection of French Impressionists. It did have several Sargent's in its own collection but it is nowhere near the category of the Boston Museum of Fine Arts - yet there it was. I went twice because the first time I had fallen in love with one of his paintings. I had never seen it before. It is called 'Carnation, Lily, Lily, Rose'. I tried to get a postcard or a 9"by 12" copy to frame so I could look at it any time I wanted. The second time I went I sat on a bench in front of the painting and drank it in with my eyes trying to commit its translucent beauty to my long term memory. Apparently, a lot of other patrons liked it as there wasn't even a magnet or piece of note paper available with the image available.

I followed the exhibit to Boston sure that their gift shop would have something. Again, nothing available. The rather frazzled clerk in the gift shop and, well, let's just say that Ms. Patience was not her friend that day, responded to my query as to where I might get a print by saying, "You could go to London". I did not see that as happening anytime in my immediate future as I was recently divorced, tutoring special needs students to pay my rent, and helping to care for my 94 year old father.

I was tutoring at two rather exclusive private schools in Deerfield, MA. The Bement School was coed and went from grades K- 9 while the Eaglebrook School was all boys and went from grades 6-9. I was working with an 8 th grader from Saudi Arabia at Eaglebrook. He was deaf but he read lips. His mother wanted me to help him with his English as well as any assignments he might not understand. He was very bright and wanted to talk more than he wanted to study. He always complained that he was hungry even though I saw him right after dinner. " I can't eat the meat" he'd tell me. When I asked him why, he told me they had hamburgers almost every night. I asked him if he was allergic to beef . "No, I like beef", he said, "But, I am a Muslim and I can't eat pork." I explained to him that there is no ham in a hamburger. He seemed amazed by that fact and wondered why it had such a name.

One night he told me that he was going to be spending his Spring break at their house on the French Riviera, although he would much rather go to their house in La Jolla, CA. "How many houses do you have", I asked. He started to list them off. When he got to London my ears pricked up. I asked him if the London house was anywhere near the Tate Gallery? He had no idea. He suggested that I ask his mother.

So in my next e-mail to her I told her of my desire to get a small print of the Sargent painting.I asked if her house in London was anywhere near the Tate, and if she so, could she possibly go there to get me a small print. I told her I would be more than happy to repay her any expenses. She assured me she could find me something and it would be a gift to me for taking such good care of her son.

A few weeks later I received a long tube in the mail from London. I opened it and inside was a 2 1/2 foot by 3 foot print of the painting. I have to tell you that I cried when I saw it unrolled and in my living room. It has moved with me three times and is now with me in Memphis. I still my love it.

So, on my first full day in London, after we did a tour of the city, our guide set us free to explore anything or any place we desired. I found a taxi and went straight to the Tate. I grabbed a small folding canvas seat and got directions to where the painting was hung ( the 1840 room). I plunked myself down in front of it and gazed and studied it for almost an hour. It amazed me that people were just blithely walking past it. "Stop!" I wanted to shout to them, " forget all the other pictures in this museum! This is the one that matters". But, I didn't. I relished it and kept it all to my own viewing pleasure.

On my way out I visited the gift shop. Still no postcards. I did get a box of note cards but the contents are shared with another Sargent painting. I took what I could get.

I am going to valiantly try to post a photo of the painting ..... no promises. If I don't succeed I'm sure you can find a copy online somewhere.

Carolyn / Gunga

Advertisement



1st May 2014

Glad you're enjoying your visit.
Hi , I'm glad you're enjoying your stay and had a chance to see the painting that you love so much. I'm sure you'll encourage people to visit the Tate while they're in London.
2nd May 2014

Drama and bliss
Your first days of this trip are quite dramatic!!! I am so glad you had the wonderful experience with your favored art at the Tate. I remember even today, gazing so contentedly at a small painting in a small Spanish museum in the 1980's. I had never seen it before but it was an oasis of peace and beauty amidst the fracas of group travel on that trip.
3rd May 2014

When the artist speaks one must listen
Isn't it a joy when an artist painting speaks to you and you cannot walk away. The joy is difficult to explain. An unexpected gift. I'm glad you finally saw it at The Tate. And....the kindness of people. How wonderful that your students mother sent you the poster. The world is a good place.
5th May 2014

Do you know the children's book
Carnation, Lily, Lily, Rose: the Story of a Painting, by Hugh Brewster? It's only 48p, with lots of illustrations from Sargent's work. It tells the story of the painting through the eyes of Kate Millet, one of the children who posed for the painting.

Tot: 0.138s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0977s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb