Round the world in 150+ days!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
July 30th 2006
Published: August 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

My arrival back in London, or actually my flight over Paris on the way to London, marked my first ever complete “round the world” experience. To recap, in the past 6 months I have travelled roughly this route (I say roughly because there are a few side trips I have left out):

London - Paris - Miami - Vancouver - Kelowna - Vancouver - Los Angeles - Tokyo - Hong Kong- Singapore - Bali - Lombok - Gili Trawangan - Bali - Bangkok - Phuket - Bangkok - Bali - Jogjakarta - Bali - Gili Trawangan - Bali - Bangkok - Singapore - Johannesburg - Dar Es Salaam - Arusha - Johannesburg - London.

I hope I have been able to capture some of the more interesting aspects of my trip in a manner that has made them interesting for you!

And a note on blogging: It is really rewarding. At times it does feel like work but the returns are well worth it. For example, on days when I may have lacked motivation to do much more than sit around the pool and read I would realise what a lousy blog entry that would make - knowing that people were out there vacationing vicariously through this blog motivated me to seek adventure.

Another great aspect of blogging is that it changed the meaning, for me, of “bad” events. For example, when my van and stuff was stolen in Jogjakarta I simply thought, “Well, it will make an excellent blog article.” And of course, no one wants to write about how they dwelled on their problems or played the victim so it was also a great motivator to deal with things in a constructive and positive way.

Blogging has also helped me to keep in touch with friends and family - even people I had either not spoken with in ages or, in some cases, people I have never met before.

The stranges effect of blogging, however, occurred when I got home to the UK. I attened the July meeting of the YES Group in London. I was amazed at the number of people, some of which I had only met once or twice before, recgognised me (even with my surfer hair which has yet to grow out) and commented on my blogs, asked about my adventures and shared their favourite moments (Captain Jack featured heavily here.)

All in all, I strong recommend blogging for anyone undertaking travels that might be of interest to others.

And so what is next?

I am still recovering from my rock-climbing mishap in Tanzania (broken toe) which rules out to much walking and has kept me on the ground for a bit longer than I had originally planned.

So, as I am writing this I am in Geneva, enjoying a quick drive (thank god for automatics) through Europe before heading to Canada to visit my son, the Smo’s and my brother’s clan in British Columbia (and maybe a small side trip to Powel River?)

In late September I will return to the UK for a speaking tour (yes, I do have to get some work done) before heading away with Daniel (my son) for a two month African Adventure.

And I will keep blogging until this restless streak subsides.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.176s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 17; qc: 67; dbt: 0.0841s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb