Magic Wands, Dinos and Catch Ups


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
January 1st 2013
Published: January 12th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Harry Potter StudioHarry Potter StudioHarry Potter Studio

This is inspired by the Christ Church College Hall - now I have seen both - the real one and the impersonation :D
I woke up a bit sleepy today after last night fireworks party. But today is another exciting day: Harry Potter! Luckily I did some last minute check and just realized I'm suppose to enroute to Watford Junction instead of just Watford. And its totally different train line! I half ran my way as its over 1 hour journey and my session is at 11 am. I had to change trains more than I thought and wait more than I want. Because today is new year, the train is running in reduced service.

But I somehow managed to arrive, just in the nick of time. Due to rushing I forgot to put my coats in the cloak room so I ended up dragging it around for 3 hours like a dead raccoon.

This Warner Brother studio is where they did most of the shooting for Harry Potter. After the sequels were done, they decided to made it open for the public (to continue generating money, ahem). The set itself is magnificent in "Disney" kind of way. Great if you can appreciate details. Masks, costumes, halls, stirring pot that can move on its own.... Overall very exciting. I'm ok to pay its 19 GBP price tag.

I must say, their souvenir shop is extremely tacky and touristy. Magic wands for 23 GBP, all sorts of quidditch tools, quill candy etc. If you don't want to bother, there's a smaller Harry Potter store in King's Cross station but I've notice the price is higher.

Note that to visit the studio, you'll have to purchase ticket and select your session in advance. There is no walk in ticket at all. And do book in advance. I actually lost my original day of choice as I procrastinate in making the booking.

I'm super hungry but couldn't find a place to eat so I hopped on a train back to London. Next stop is Natural History Museum as I made appointment with my friend Ochi and her family.

Its still 2 hours more so I explored the museum. The afternoon light was just hitting all the right spot as it produced this warm pink glow. All day there's this cloudless blue sky which was fab. Outside the museum there's a skate rink and glowing Christmas tree, which just added the romantic ambience.

The inside of the museum is impressive as well. You'll see a big dino skull when entering. The building is just so pretty on its own. Its packed like a zoo, which tends to happen to most museums here as they are mostly free.

I barely have any energy left, given that I haven't had a proper meal all day. So I focused on couple of sections that I know I'm particularly interested in: dino and blue whale. The dino section was very crowded. You basically queued while walking through the display. Indeed it was a very impressive collection and interesting both for adults and kids.

The blue whale section was not as impressive, mostly due to harsh lighting. I'm too exhausted to try to find a good angle. I walked out and stuff my face with potato cheese - the only edible food I can find nearby. I know Ochi willl take me out for dinner but just in case it didn't push through, I better take good care of myself.

There is somewhat 30 mins more. I decided to risk it and ran for the Victoria & Albert museum across the street. In my understanding this is the collection of gifts that the
Victoria & Albert MuseumVictoria & Albert MuseumVictoria & Albert Museum

Project 2013: being a good mum :)
royal family received throughout the years. I took a glance of few sections in the ground floor, but at least I've been there.

I ran back to Natural History Museum and hoped that my friend did not forget our appointment. My text messages somehow wasn't being replied all day. All my worries melted when I finally saw them. Gosh, I would hate to bring back the cosmetic and medicine packs that she asked me to bring for her - back to Singapore. I feel a bit bad that her 2 kids looks a bit sleepy already and they came all the way from the far suburb.

They brought me to Chinatown where there's this small nook that sells Indonesian food. Its just so funny that halfway around the world and drinking local box tea ha ha. We chatted the night away and catch up. Her 2 kids are so cute and picked up thick British accent already. They also share their experience living in the UK and ask whether I got plans to move ha ha. I wish!

Its getting late. We said goodbye, well wishes and go our separate way. The night ends anticlimax as I just realized there's another box of cosmetics in my luggage, tuck in between the folds. Gah!!! I'm definitely getting old.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0435s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb