Last day in London


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
May 30th 2012
Published: June 2nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

May 30th- My day starts off fairly easy due to the fact that I get to blog on a free day in London. So today was the day I decided it was a good day to sleep in. I finally get my self out of bed around 9:30 and make my way to the sky lounge which is on the 8th floor of our hostel. I find a couple friends upstairs and start to make plans on what we want to do on our free day in London. After making some plans I make my way to the 4th floor to the common room to see if anyone wants to do something or to see what other people are doing. An hour passes and I decided to start getting ready for the day and to head out and do something. At this point I still don't know what to do besides shopping. By 11:30 I'm all ready to head out and come to find that most of the people had already went to go on tours that I had already did, like the tower of london. Luckily my friend amber had been talking and hanging with me so we decided to go shopping down regent street to find whatever we can find. This idea did not last long due to the fact that we both aren't into shopping and it was a waste to shop all day. I finally remembered an exhibit that I saw being advertising where you can see the insides of animals like the exhibit in Chicago The Human Body but with animals. At this idea Amber and I decided this is what we thought would be the best thing and the most interesting thing to do. We head to the travel shop at our hostel and ask for directions and how much it was gonna cost us. They said we could take the train but this would cost us 7.95£ for a round trip ticket and to get in the exhibit it was gonna cost us 9£. So we decided just to walk there and why not we thought we get to see the city, stop for lunch when we wanted, and so on. We head out and when asking if we were going in the right direction from a local the lady we asked was astounded that we were walking there and said it was a good 45 minute if not longer walk. Amber and I just looked at each other and kept walking. On our walk we enjoyed the sights and stopped for lunch in a small panini shop that had great food with decent prices. After our half hour lunch break we had only 10 more minutes of walking. Finally we reach our destination at the National History Museum. Lucky for us admission to get inside was free and most of the exhibits were free too besides the animals inside out which was 9£ to get in. We started walking around and saw a camel that was inside out. We then made our way through a fossil room of prehistoric fish and whales. We walked through the aviary section that had all sorts of birds on display and this was one of my favorite displays. At the end of this display was the Animal Inside Out exhibit. To our surprise amber and I received a student discount and only payed 6£. Throughout the exhibit we saw sharks, fish, goats, horses, bulls, rabbits, elephant, giraffe, and gorilla. I learned so much and it was so interesting to see what the inside of animals looked like. After we finished that exhibit we just wondered around looking at other exhibits like dinosaurs, mammals, volcanoes, earthquakes, how the earth started, creepy crawlers, how the earth might end and a star exhibit. By the time we were done our feet were hurting and realized we had been there for over 3 hours. We decided to get a drink and start making our long way back. It did actually take us 45 minutes to get back and it started to rain on us on the way back which was kinda refreshing. We arrived back at the hostel and gathered a group who wanted to go to dinner. We first though relaxed and wrote our journal for the next day since it was gonna be due. After finishing our journals we got ready for dinner and headed to a pub called St. James. We finished our delicious dinners and headed out to do some little souvenir shopping. Finally we finished that and headed back to the hostel. When we got back we sat and watched Pirates of the Carribean and talked with our whole group on what they did today. Over an hour passed and I decided it was getting late and headed up for my shower. After me shower I headed back downstairs to play cards but after a while got bored and went to my room to hang with Jen and Megan. We started rocking out to country music on my phone and after we listened to all my songs we decided to go to bed. All in all I had a great free day and tomorrow we are off to Wales.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0399s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb