Warwick Castle and Stratford-Upon-Avon


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
January 30th 2012
Published: January 30th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Shakespeare's Home!Shakespeare's Home!Shakespeare's Home!

This is where Shakespeare lived as a child! Everyone in this picture is in CIS- my study abroad program!
This weekend CIS took us to Warwick Castle and Stratford! Both of these are two places that I was not able to go to this past summer, so I was very excited to make the trips.

We got to Warwick castle around 11am after leaving at 8am. I missed seeing most of the country side because I was sleeping, but that made touring the castle much more enjoyable. The first thing we did at the castle was go though an exhibit called "A Royal Weekend Party". This was in part of the castle and they had all the different rooms made up to look like royal people were having a party. It was a little bit creepy but they had backstories that you could read and it ended up being really cool! All the stories were very scandalous. Going though it made you wish that you could live in a castle, have weekend parties, and dress up very lavishly for occasions. Then, we went to the "Dungeon Diner" and had a snack. I had a scone with tea which was fun.

After that we climbed to the top of the highest tower, which was very difficult for us. I am also afraid of heights, so after we got up there it was hard for me to look over the edge. We just wandered the grounds after that and saw lots of owls and peacocks. The castle kind of reminded me of Harry Potter, so that was really fun! I wish we would of had time to explore the city but we left at 1pm for Stratford.

The first thing we did in Stratford was see the church where Shakespeare was baptized and buried. They don't have a record of his birth, but usually babies were baptized a week after they were born. The church was very beautiful, but from the outside it looked like it was haunted. Then, we went to the house were Shakespeare lived as a child. It was very cool looking and very old. I loved walking along the streets of the small city, and a ton of the houses still survived from Shakespeare's time. I love when cities are preserved like that! (Thats why I love Williamsburg so much!). Allie, Emily and I found a very cute coffee shop which served food, and we had a feast.

Sadly, we had to leave at
Warwick Castle TowerWarwick Castle TowerWarwick Castle Tower

This is me and Emily on top of Warwick Castle tower! I was so afraid of the height!
4pm, so we did not get too much time to explore the city. We ended up changing busses and had a different tour guide on the way home. I was excited because it was the same tour guide that I had twice from this summer! In all, it was a very interesting and fun trip.

I can't believe that it is already almost February! I feel like this trip is going to go by so fast! We have so many activities every week, and I have at least one thing planned every weekend up until April! And then beginning in April I travel everywhere with Allie! We're going to meet wednesday to plan out everything that we're going to do and I am so excited!

As of right now I am going to Galway, Ireland for St. Patricks day and Italy for a week in February! In Italy I will be going to Verona, Venice, Florence, Siena and Naples. I am so excited! There is so much ahead of me and I am so blessed to be here!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Warwick Castle Warwick Castle
Warwick Castle

A tired Emily and Allie walking around the Warwick Castle grounds


30th January 2012

Sounds like a dream
Love all the pics - amazing fun times and so jealous.

Tot: 0.183s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0322s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb