Preparing for Berlin


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
August 20th 2009
Published: August 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Towards Canary WharfTowards Canary WharfTowards Canary Wharf

In the morning I headed over to Canary Wharf for a coffee, shopping and to have lunch with former Sydney PwC colleague David Tucker
Dear reader, I have called this latest entry 'Preparing for Berlin' more as a mental note in preparation for some preparation rather than the preparation itself. (If that makes sense!)

Thankfully my brother knows Berlin really well and has provided me with a list of places to visit, however I usually like to do my own research so that I have some control over my time in a new city. I fear that other committments (friends, family food and drinks) will distract me from my Berlin research.

Anyway enough of Berlin, I'm still in London, the final Ashes test will be starting today at the Oval however I will be visiting Tate Modern with my brother to see the Futurism exhibition followed by lunch in the Tate Modern restaurant .

It is going to be a cooler day today with the chance of shower or two and a top temperature of 23c.

Tonight I'm meeting my friend Mai (with whom I studied Spanish in Australia) she is threatening to take me to some sort of dance class followed by dinner - I will report back!






Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

The World's Quickest Ferry TripThe World's Quickest Ferry Trip
The World's Quickest Ferry Trip

3 mins for 3 pounds. It might also be the most expense (per min) form of transport in the world! Having said that it was much better than the 30 mins it took on the bus and tube earlier on in the week. (This photo is looking back towards my Hotel).
Scenes at Canary WharfScenes at Canary Wharf
Scenes at Canary Wharf

It was a lovely day to wander through the many small parks at Canary Wharf
Scenes at Canary WharfScenes at Canary Wharf
Scenes at Canary Wharf

Canary Wharf would be a lovely place to work - though it still doesnt quite feel 'lived in' yet.
From the Canary Wharf WharfFrom the Canary Wharf Wharf
From the Canary Wharf Wharf

A large cruise ship is towed by a tug (boring I know)


20th August 2009

Lovely time
Hey CJ, great to hear from you and that you are having a wonderful time. Did you have a hangover after all that beer tasting? You are not missing much here apart from lovely weather, and at last the weekend is approaching. Yippee. Almost the first week of your trip gone, how time flies. You may well be in Berlin by the time you get this comment so I hope the trip has been great with many more stories to come. Great photo's! I look forward to hearing about your travels and will catch up again soon Lec

Tot: 0.288s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 68; dbt: 0.0937s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb