First day of classes!!!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
January 9th 2006
Published: February 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well, there friends, after a pretty coo, coo weekend, today was the first day of classes. All I had was British Life and Culture. It was alright. But I was shocked to find out how many of my fellows classmates didn't know really anything about the UK, Great Britain, and England what is the difference between the three. Or when the prof gave us a map of Europe and told us to figure out where the different countries where, the non SNC people in my group could barely find France!!! But whatever, I suppose they will learn that as they go along. Well, I apologize for not writing about the weekend, but I did put it all down in my journal, so now I will do my best to replicate that without having my journal. On Saturday, there was a walking tour of the neighborhood. The students were broken up into 2 groups and the group I was in had Brit as a guide. We basically walked around Imperial College, and the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea. It was very interesting to find out the information of the area. This really is a Victorian neighborhood. And they really adore Queen
FruliFruliFruli

This one's for Kat!!!
Victoria here, but then, again, how could you not adore the Grandmother of Europe??? Also, one thing we learned is that to buy a house on the street that we live on it cost anywhere from £6-8 Million, which is about $12-16 million!!! There, recently was a house in Kensington that sold for £60 million ($120mil)!!!!!! Yowzers! After the tour we went shopping for some item at Argos, which was quite an experience. You see, at Argos, first you look through a magazine and then you figure out what you want. Then, write down the catalogue number of the item and take your slip of paper to the cash register where you pay for it. Then, you go stand in queue (line) and wait for you number to be called and then you are handed your item. I bought a watch there. For dinner, the girls (Colleen, Kat, Jacqueline and I) went to Hammersmith for a traditional Fish'n'chips. The place we went was called the George and it was fairly good and quite inexpensive by English standards. Once we got home we got ready to go to a club in Piccadilly Circus. We ended up going to Oxygen. It was
PicadillyPicadillyPicadilly

In Picadilly circus!
a bit of fun.
On Sunday, we all woke up late, about noon or so and began to get ready for our tour by coach of London. We drove past Harrods’s, St. Paul's Cathedral, Tower Bridge, the Globe, and Westminster Abbey and stopped at Buckingham Palace. It was a bit of a dreary day, so it was nice that we were in coach all day. After that, Jacqueline and I went to Tesco Express and bought some pasta, sauce and Merlot for dinner. It was a bit of an annoyance to find out at 430 pm that most everything in London closes at 5 pm on Sundays! But we found our food for quite a good price. The entire thing cost us £3 (including Merlot) and we have enough for another night!
But today, like I said was the first day of class and it was alright. After class, I went for a running/jogging work out in Hyde Park. It took me about 1.5 hrs. And then I showered. After I got done with my shower, I noticed that the cleaning ladies where tidying up our room, which was quite a surprise because we did not even, know they were
CircusCircusCircus

jacqueline and i went to explore Picadilly
coming today. But now we do know that they clean on Mondays and do our linens on Thursdays! Tonight we have a welcoming reception at Imperial College. Imperial college is pretty much adjacent to our building, just across Queen's Gate which is only three doors from Metrogate. So, tonight I will be busy with that.
Tomorrow I have my Shakespeare and Elizabethan Literature Class 9-1230, and again on Wed 130-5. On Thursday and Friday I have History of Britain 1815-present. I am kind of bummed about my schedule because I am the only person with a 5 day schedule. Most of the people from SNC have 4-5 weekend, but NOT ME!!! So, I am kind of frustrated about that, because while all my peers are traveling Europe, I will be in London...but I guess there is so much to do I really won't be too bored, but I would like to get to the continent one day.



Additional photos below
Photos: 29, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

The George1The George1
The George1

Dunner and Jacqueline when were having fish and chips
The George2The George2
The George2

Katherine and Me
The George3The George3
The George3

Fish'n'chips
The George4The George4
The George4

Colleen made a mess!! HAHAHA
The George5The George5
The George5

That Says "The George" which is the pub where we had our first meal of fish'n'chips in Hammersmith!
Going out!Going out!
Going out!

yea, being crazy and going out!!!
CrazyCrazy
Crazy

Gotta get it outa my system somehow
a boy...a boy...
a boy...

this is adam from cyprus
Picadilly CircusPicadilly Circus
Picadilly Circus

this is what it is all about
RandomRandom
Random

Some British boys wanted to take their pic with some American Chicas
St. Pauls1St. Pauls1
St. Pauls1

Back view from St. Paul's Cathedral


Tot: 0.241s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 11; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0545s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb