A Room of My Own


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Tooting Broadway
September 2nd 2012
Published: September 2nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hello Family 😊

It has been a while since I have updated this but there hasn't been too much to tell so I thought I'd wait until I had a bit of news. I have finally found my own room! This is the 5th, and hopefully final, place I have been to in the last 4 months. I moved in yesterday to a little room with a double bed, desk, wardrobe and a back door that leads into the garden. Don't worry no one has to walk through my room to get outside, there is another door through the lounge so I have this one all to myself! It would be lovely if we had a warm day but unfortunately I think those are now behind us. We've officially gone into Autumn with less hot days than I can count on my fingers. I'm living with 5 other people, 2 couples and a single man. Downstairs is my room, Manuel's room, the living room and kitchen. Upstairs is two bathrooms and 2 bedrooms for the couples. There are 4 Italians and 1 Lithuanian so I feel like quite the Aussie bogan especially when I try and pronounce their names properly...Selena, Davide, Carlos and Monica. Last night was my first night and Manuel (Italian) told me how much he and Davide love cooking and they will probably cook every night. I told him of my minimal efforts and lack of talent inherited by my mother, he wasn't so impressed. He then went and cooked me pasta with pesto from the town where Pesto was invented, Italian bread, Italian cheese, salami and wine. I felt so spoilt but they are determined to teach me a few things in the kitchen as well as turn me into a Pasta snob! Looks like I'm going to have to attempt to make an effort in the kitchen or I will be heavily frowned upon! Also, they don't tend to watch TV whilst eating and sit around for dinner together at the table speaking Italian. This will be very interesting! But they are all very nice and welcoming so I look forward to getting settled.

You'll see on here photos of some of the Olympics, they're not very good as I don't have a camera and were taken on my phone. I was holding off until my friend Miah put hers up on facebook and I could steal them but she hasn't done it. We went to the Men's race walk during the day The Mall. The course went right through St James' Park and passed Buckingham Palace. It was a gorgeous sunny day so we went along for free and caught some of the atmosphere. It was great, people everywhere just cheering for whoever happened to walk passed and then when their country went passed they'd go crazy. The Aussie bloke won silver so we were pretty happy!

In other news I'll be off to Oktoberfest in a few weeks! I'm going with Jackie and a few friends from here, then am meeting up with a few friends from Melbourne so it will be very good. I'll be there for 6 days, definitely will get a chance to see Munich as well as travel down into Switzerland for the day! I better invest in a camera so I can take many photos and post them up here.

Apart from that there are no other travel plans. I only get 20 days leave so I might use one or two over christmas or New Years and then I have a friend from Melbourne coming over at the end of Jan/start of Feb and I'll take a week off work to travel around Amsterdam, Brussels, Rome and Florence...possibly Berlin or Prague if we can fit it in.

I hope all is well back home, I am very sad to hear about Jakki and hope that everyone is coping as well as they possibly can. The photos from Matt's wedding look great, especially of Uncle Luke dancing! Made me laugh! I'll have to organise a time to skype my Aunties and Grandmother! Saturday or Sunday are best for me because of the time difference. Send me a message on whatsapp to let me know when is a good time 😊

P.S I refuse to answer any questions about Luke, for now you all know everything you need to so if you're skyping then you better think of some other conversation topics!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.054s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb