To London


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » London City
July 28th 2009
Published: August 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

London, destination...London, destination...London, destination...

Hahaha, its still funny!
Well as per the last few I am sticking these in postmortem as such. Anyway no detailed discussions or insights here as this is a quick main pointers of after Africa.

I guess first things being said, I have moved on from Africa a lot sooner than expected. Some may see this as a failure, I see it as having my sub-conscious questions answered much faster than I expected.

To London, and what an amazing city compared to the dump that is Africa. Now the African country is beautiful and the weather, wow if you love the sun, you can't beat nearly perfect day, after near perfect day, after near perfect day... But Africa... what a dump. Minimal infrastructure, open drains, unreliable electricity, dirt roads etc.

Just a side note of humour, the funniest thing in London, was arriving and catching the tube to my hostel. The final stop was Cockfosters, and small things yeah I know, but for the next seven stops every time the automated message said it, I cracked up.

Anyway, London, quite different from what I imagined. Such a positive, vibrant feel to the place. Admittedly this would be a very biased opinion,
Londons greensLondons greensLondons greens

The city had a lot more green than I had thought.
as where I was staying was a rather affluent area (Right near Hyde Park). You could tell by the Ferrari's, Lamborghini's and Porches everywhere. With that biased opinion in mind, it was a lot greener than I thought it would have been. There are so many parks throughout the city. So much character, with large sections of the city being built not by builders, but craftsmen of old. The general vibe was however was one of business, but coming from Auckland a city of intensity, I found it much more agreeable. One of the cool things was the pub culture. Seems that most days ended with a pint or two at the local pub, something which I saw as positive social interactions.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Londons graysLondons grays
Londons grays

Even the grays were cool.


Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0773s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb