‘The Astle's Blue John Right-On Shizzle My Nizzle ’ stone


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » London City
October 17th 2007
Published: February 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

We still hadn’t found jobs and were getting a bit stressed. Nic had applied for a few and wasn’t having any luck. She did a few days temping but it was for crap money and she decided it was better to spend her time looking for a full time job.

I was a bit luckier. I emailed my old boss and asked him for a reference. He replied saying that he would give me one, but would rather see me return to work for him as opposed to going elsewhere. His flattery and the hint of a pay-rise tempted me to accept his offer. The only problem was that he had to get the new role signed off by higher ups and that would take a while. So I just had to sit around and hope that it got approved.

In the meantime Nic and I went and checked out a couple of Museums. The first one we went to was the Natural History Museum of London. Nic was in her element having done Geology and Geography at University. It was all about Earthquakes, fossils and rocks. Doesn’t sound that interesting, but it was. The earthquake section let you experience the Kobe 1995 quake from a room made to look like a grocery store in Japan. The fossils section had some kick arse big crocodile looking things and the geology section had a huge section of weird and wacky rocks and stones. The Blue John stone is found only in Derbyshire, I reckon it was probably discovered by one of my ancestors who originate from there. I suspect its full scientific name is ‘The Astle's Blue John Right-On Shizzle My Nizzle’ stone.

The second museum we visited was the London science museum. It had some interesting attractions, it’s just a shame there were school kids everywhere. I say we ban them from museums. We found an interactive hands-on section, that too was full of kids so we pushed them out of the way. My favourite display was the one on prisons and some of the devices used to transport prisoners. One looked gruesome with big spikes on it. Now that’s what the school kids should have been allowed a go on, I’m sure the teachers would have loved it.



Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0324s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb