A week of classes!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Kensington
February 2nd 2006
Published: February 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So this week really made me see why it is called "study" abroad. I spent most of the time studying and doing homework. But, even when I was studying, I was also online IMing on AIM, checking e-mails and listening to online radio! Then, I realized all the work that I have been doing this week, would really equal probably one day of homework at SNC! Crazy, huh? Unfortunately I don't have any pictures to add to this entry either, so it just goes to show what kind of a BLAH week it has been in ye ole Londontown.
Monday- BLC! We talked a lot about religion and media. And it was interesting because I had been to the Anglican Church the night before. I got my first paper assignment and began to start working on that as well. When I got back to my room, I checked my e-mail in an effort to procrastinate a bit more and received one from my good friend Liz. Liz is studying in Lille, France and she told me I should go there this weekend. So, I thought to myself, why not at least look into it? It will at least put off the studying a few more hours! So, I headed on over to STA to see what it would cost to go there for the weekend. The price wasn't too bad considering I was looking into it last minute. I also got myself one of the ISIC cards and it was quite an adventure. I had to get a picture taken and I first went to Gloucester Tube Station and the picture machine was out, so then I got on the Tube and went to South Kensington station to get it taken there and I had to wait behind this guy who obviously didn't speak any English and his friends and it seriously took them 20 minutes to get their picture for one of the guys taken!!! AHHHH!! But then came my turn and it wasn't too bad. I picked up my card at STA and went back to my dorm and made myself some dinner! I am getting to be quite the master with pasta!!! I don't really like it anymore, but it is the cheapest thing, after plain rice, so I am getting used to developing new methods of cooking it! At 730p. I had to leave to go to a Jack the Ripper walk for my Shakespeare class. I know what you're thinking, what does Jack the Ripper have to do with Shakespeare? Well, nothing really, but our professor is very much learnt in Jack the Ripper history as well. But we really didn't get into too many gory details. We just basically walked by the place where the last prostitute that was killed lived, where she worked, where she drank, and the area where she was killed. Not many details at all, but it was rather interesting. We walked by a church that was a church, then a synagogue and now it is a mosque...kind of weird! Then, we went to an Indian restaurant as a class. And I stick to my original thoughts on Indian food. Not that good, but is sure is fashionable to eat Indian food here. It's like a fad or something!
Tuesday---Shakespeare class! We finish twelfth night and began poetry. And that is all fine and dandy, but the most important thing that happened today was my internship one-on-one! There I found out all about my placement. I will be working for Greg Hands, a Conservative MP who represents Hammersmith and Fulham. There are four people on his staff. His aide, his researcher, his press releaser and yours truly!!! However, I still need to go to an interview to formalize it. I also found out my interview time. Next Tuesday February 7 2006 at 1100a. Local time! I am really nervous, so if you read this please say a lil prayer for me! I have been looking at Greg's website and I noticed one of his areas of expertise is in History and one of his great policy areas is in Foreign Relations! I think it will be a fantastic fit! I am very much full of mixed emotions though. I have never been to a "real" interview!!! I am really nervous, but very excited as well! After I came back to my room, I went and worked out and it felt good to be out and moving around. Weather wise today was not too bad! I also did some cleaning and I really did study today as well. I read for my class and it wasn't much by SNC standards!!! But it was fascinating and I actually enjoyed it, unlike most of my material for SNC!!! (Just Kidding) Everyone should study aboard, so all you people back at home---you should do it!!! And Do IT NOW!!!! I also got to talk online today as well and it was nice chatting with some people I hadn't heard from in awhile. I also got this great idea put in my head by me, actually to go see Gheel, Belgium. Random or what? But you want to know why? Well, that is where St. Dymphna was martyred! (if you don't get the connection---shame on you, just ask me!!!!)
Wednesday--I had class again, but I got up really early to watch the State of the Union by Bush and the Democratic Response online. I then went to pick up some newspapers to see what they had to say about it, but it really wasn't covered too in depth. The big story of the day was that the 100th British solider died in Iraq and that is what flooded and filled the newsstands. There was only one paper here that had a significant article about Bush's speech. And most of them, for some peculiar reason, covered the death of Coretta Scott King. I guess I really didn't know she was such an international icon. But, hey you learn something new everyday......But anyways, back to Wednesday, I just updated my blog and did more HW (aka talked on AIM) and went to class. After class I went with Amy to Harrods’s Chocolate Bar! Now, if you are a chocolate-phene like me, you will love this place AMAZING!!! The cookies were to die for and I really cannot put it into words, but I have never had so much chocolate that tasted SO good!!! Then, I came home and realized that I had a midterm on Thursday and had barely cracked a book. So it was time for cramming! And that I did! And I actually got done with most of my studying by 1100p. So, I decided to read over my notes on last time and then go to bed early. Get up early and have a good breakfast and then rock the exam....However fate had other plans!!!
Well, I did go to bed early; however, disturbingly enough I was awaken at 200a. by the fire alarm! If you know me, there are only two things in this world that freak the shit out of me, one is fires the other is heights! Well, we got downstairs and the people had no clue what was going on. But then they figured it out. Some kid’s room had blown a fuse or something and tripped the alarm because the battery in the room was bad. They fixed the problem. Now I am scared as hell and I return to my room! I call home and try to talk to my parents to calm down and the alarm goes off again...You should know my heart rate still was back to normal from the first one alarm yet. Then it gets shut off. I call my mom back and we are talking again...you know that reassuring kind of stuff mom's always tell you when your freaked. And the alarm goes off again! So, I go all the way downstairs and ask reception what is going on. Well, after they reset the alarm another room show a bad battery, hence the second alarm and the third time, they rang just to make sure no other batteries were low. Everything was supposedly safe, so I went back up stairs again....Still freaked as piss; I tried to e-mail my professor to let him know I really won't be at my peek for taking a midterm. I read a book and try to bore myself asleep. My roommate finally come home around 300-330a. (They were at the bars all night!) But I still was very shaken up and decided to take an anxiety pill to get to fall asleep.
So, I did. It worked, but unfortunately I didn't hear my alarm to get up for my class. I got up 10 minutes before my class, that I had a midterm in!!! I don't really remember a lot from the exam, I wrote the entire time, so hopefully it was coherent enough! But because I was so exhausted from the lack of sleep from the previous night, at every break during our class I walked to Starbucks with Amanda and Erin and had two shots of espresso each time. By the time class was over I was shaking because I was so caffeinated!!! I went back to my room after class and felt really sick, almost as sick as when I threw up from too much coffee (yes, there is such a thing as consuming too much coffee, it is like when you drink to much alcohol and throw up...yes, I have thrown up from drinking too much coffee before, and that is how you know you are a coffee addict!). So, I worked on my paper that is due Monday that I have to get done before I go to Paris. But by about 130p I was off my coffee-high and I crashed...and I crashed hard. I slept for about four hours. I woke up and just searched the web for new music. I worked on my paper and finished it and now I am updating my blog!!!!
Tomorrow, Friday, which comes for me in about 20 minutes, I have to get up, shower, pack, go to class, and then go to Lille!!! And, later you can read all about that adventure!!! (Oh and by the way Dad, if you go back and check my other blogs, as well as this one, I did run them through spell check!!!!)


Advertisement



3rd February 2006

BUZZ
Are you sure you were off your caffeine high after your nap?! This blog sounds like you're still up there! I'd really like to call you but I'm restraining mysself: we just got the FIRST cell phone bill through Jan 20th from Joe Budnick. On top of that we have the Verizon bill. At this rate I could fly over and talk to you as cheaply! Jon B has something called SKYPE which allows people to actually hear each other speak through their computer. On one of those days when you're bored (if that ever happens) or homesick look into that and into a calling card to use from your house phone and also the "London chip" for your cell phone. Look for a package in the mail in 5-7 days. Did youever get the quackers?If not I need to know to track them down and know if mail actually gets from here to there. Sleep well. Love, MOM

Tot: 0.254s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0628s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb