Arrived!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Islington
June 10th 2012
Published: June 10th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I have made it to the United Kingdom safely! The flight went very smoothly, but getting from the airport to my housing was quite the adventure. I was supposed to take a shuttle, but ended up taking the tube (underground train). We struck up a conversation with a gentleman who knew we were from the midwest somehow. Pretty cool!

I definitely feel comfortable in the city at this point. We discovered a cute bakery this morning and had a delicious breakfast. In addition, I had an orientation to familiarize myself with the program, get some tips, and learn a few things about the city. Tomorrow, I am doing a test run to work to make sure I can get there okay! I am one of the few to take the bus versus the tube.

Today I also went to Tesco (the grocery store) as our rooms have small kitchenettes! Finally, my roommate and I used our meal tickets at the restaurant next door. We can choose either a pizza or a burger and the meal comes with a drink and a dessert. It was delicious and we can also "takeaway" the leftovers for extra meals to save money. We also walked around this morning and found many other cafes, restaurants, and coffee shops for quick snacks and meals. Eating out eats up a lot of money. No pun intended.

The last thing I wanted to touch on was the weather--typical London. Cloudy, sunning, rainy, and windy all in a matter of a few hours. It is nice to be in a city with a different climate.

That's it for now! I will post back soon once work starts on Tuesday!

~Kayleigh

P.S. I apologize for any spelling/grammar mistakes. I am quite exhausted.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0877s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb