"We have an announcement"


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Islington
June 25th 2011
Published: June 28th 2011
Edit Blog Post

As Nikki and I decided to have an almost stress free wedding by going to Sweden, just the two of us, to get married there we thought we’d have a wedding reception back home in the UK to celebrate with friends and family. But being that we had the most untraditional wedding ever we thought that we should keep the ‘untraditional’ theme by having not one but two wedding receptions, the first of which we had in our garden over four months after our actual wedding. Why did we have such a big gap between our wedding and the reception? To wait for good weather of course and we were lucky that we actually had good weather plus if we'd have had it in February we wouldn't have been able to make a very big announcement

On the morning of the party I was quite stressed and tired as Nikki’s dad and I had been busy knocking down walls, sanding floors, plastering and generally working our arses off trying to get as much done as possible around our new flat before the party. It had been raining all night, we had cleaned up as much as possible but there was still dust everywhere, I couldn’t find the cover for the two gazebos we were going to put up, stress is not even the word. It was 7am when I woke up and the party was starting at 2pm, there was a lot to do. Luckily I found the covers for the gazebos and the sun was shining by the time the party started, everything was sorted.

We popped open the first bottle of champagne and the party started, I decided as I had worked so hard I was going to let my hair down and get drunk, what a mistake! As I am writing this I’m suffering from the worst hangover of my life.

Anyway that’s enough of me talking about my hangover.

With Frank Sinatra playing and bubbly flowing everyone seemed to be having a great time in the sun, I got very drunk very fast and before I knew it Nikki was calling me as it was time to cut the cake. We turned the music off “Everyone gather around, we have an announcement” Nikki said. We had a little hug and a kiss and then Nikki started her speech “Thank you everyone for coming.
My 'loving look'My 'loving look'My 'loving look'

looks more of a drunk look to me.
We are so happy to have our nearest and dearest present today. As we have all of our closest friends and family here today we thought it would be the perfect time to make this type of announcement, I’m.....”. I looked into Nikki’s eyes and gave her a kiss as I gently placed my hand on to her midsection and lovingly gave it a rub, she placed her hand on mine, we both had the biggest smiles on our faces, I looked around at everyone looking back at us. There were a mixture of shocked faces and smiles, I heard a voice say “I know what they’re going to say”. I couldn’t decide if the look on my mum’s face was happy or not as she looked so shocked. I turned my gaze back to Nikki as she finished her sentence.....”I’m.....starting a new job in September”. We both burst out laughing as we knew everyone thought we were about to announce Nikki was pregnant.

I gave Nikki’s midsection another rub and said “She has great abs too” as I burst into laughter again. My mum said she knew we were joking all along but judging from the look on
The family picThe family picThe family pic

left to right. Matty, my Nan, me, my Mum, Bob (Roberta), Nikki, Jade, Jon, Little Grace & Nikki's Dad.
her face I can tell that is the biggest lie she has ever told! Everyone else at the party admitted they thought we were about to announce Nikki was pregnant.

I’d like to be able to tell you more about the party however I got very drunk and can’t remember much, but from what I can remember it was a good party. I started to write this the day after the party and I’m finishing writing this three days after the party and I still feel hung over, now I know why I don’t drink very often!



Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Me & some friendsMe & some friends
Me & some friends

Danielle, Alan (The old man) and Adrian


28th June 2011

You are a handsome couple
Your sense of humor may come back to bite you some day. Congrats on Nikki's new job and your future.
29th June 2011

=D
...and I was expecting a baby announcement too.hahaha.i wish to have a wedding as quiet as yours :) cheers to married life :) congratulations!
29th June 2011

WTH
oooh that's as bad as giving a fake lottery ticket! You are cruel people....lol.

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 15; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0533s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb