Ready for what I'm about to see...


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Camden Town
September 9th 2007
Published: September 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

HelloHelloHello

Please remain calm
I must say that my Cloud Cult t-shirt with the words, "Please Remain Calm" on it garnered attention from people young and old; I even had a couple of teenage girls ask me where I got it. For some reason, that saying really interested people. I got a few knowing laughs and few thoughtful looks as well.

I have a busy week ahead, as I start my new job Monday. It is a little bit outside London, so I will be traveling by tube, train, and bus to get there! So I took it easy this weekend, tried to organize a little bit.

I even watched a little television. Many of the programs are devoted to the fact that the anniversary of 9-11 is on Tuesday. There was a program about a photograph taken of a falling man; until this program, it did not click with me that people were jumping out the windows of the World Trade Building. It made me sad.

Today I had fish and chips and went to the British Museum. Actually, I ate the fish and chips in front of the Museum. And then I took a look around inside.

I think I like the idea of fish and chips, more than I like fish and chips. For one thing, they give you a HUGE portion--and for another, they are kind of greasy. I can say that I did it, though.

I was not able to make it through the whole Museum. I started out too late, and there is just too much to see. But I am definitely going back. The first thing I noticed about the Museum (besides that it is a massive structure), was how airy and light it was in the passageways, and how dark it is in the different rooms (maybe to protect the objects?).

I stayed on the first floor, and wandered through exhibits on the Enlightment Age (18th century)--when people were starting to open their minds to different concepts about life and other civilizations, and Life and Death through the artifacts of Egypt, Easter Islands, Alaska, Bolivia, Peru, Mexico....I was standing there thinking about how all these different cultures made statues and different items to give name and meaning to the cycles of life. Each was similar, but also unique to that culture. For instance, some cultures bury their dead with objects to attract riches in the afterlife. There were different rituals and objects used to prepare for war in some cases. Many of the civilizations had symbols and artifacts for protection--they varied from the very small to the gigantic.

(Now that I think about it--I was wearing my Cloud Cult shirt--and Cloud Cult's themes in their music have a lot to do with living life as well as death. If you haven't checked them out already, here you go.....
http://www.cloudcult.com/ )

Do you have a symbol or ritual of protection? How were those issues--birth, growth, death talked discussed or dealt with throughout your life? Feel free to share--or not.

I will be back next week with more on life in London. Hope everyone is safe and well out there!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Fountain scupltureFountain scuplture
Fountain scuplture

I was at the National Gallery earlier this week
Serpentine BridgeSerpentine Bridge
Serpentine Bridge

I took a walk through Hyde Park on Thursday....
No flytippingNo flytipping
No flytipping

Interesting sign....anyone want to guess what it means?


10th September 2007

my symbol of protection...
I can't think of a specific security blanket I've ever had. But I've always been fond of hugs as a form of comfort and reassurance. To me that's a symbol of protection for not just life in general, but my friendships as well. Yum, fish and chips in London! Did they offer to put mayonnaise on your chips? I hear they like that. As always, absolutely amazing photos. Te echamos de menos todos nosotros aqui. Hasta pronto! Everett
10th September 2007

Well....
My family is Catholic. And I grew up Catholic even though I don't practice it much now like I did when I lived back home. But still some things stick. One thing I do everyday, when I pull out of my drive way ...me persino... when you do the whole cross thing. I don't know how to say it in English but that's we were taught growing up. So that's what I do. I don't eat seafood, so the fish doesn't really YEAH me, but the chips looked yummy. Have fun at your new job and I hope all is well. Miss you. Kari
10th September 2007

My symbol
When I spent 6 months in Indiana (between Sean and Blaine) it was probibly the most depressing time of my life. I was literally alone in the world with no hope to hold onto. I had given up on everything and was sinking further and further into this dark place. At some point, I realized I needed to return to Phoenix. I had fought doing so out of pride I guess. But I knew I would never feel alive again until I went back. So in recognition of my choice to leave, my choice to live, I had the ankh tattooed onto my ankle. The Ankh is the Egyptian symbol for life. I carry it with me to remind myself that and no matter what life has in store for me...I choose to live.
10th September 2007

Insight
I am really enjoying everyone's comments! It is funny how we do things ritualistically, or have symbols to remind us of the those hard times--which is exactly where many of those artifiacts came from in the museum. The human spirit just amazes me. Please keep writing.....and I miss you guys, too! Felicia

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0397s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb