London


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Balham
September 4th 2010
Published: September 4th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Thursday night after my much needed nana nap I headed over to Richmond to catch up with Sabrina. Caught the train from Clapham Junction to Richmond - once again, too easy! We went to the Pitcher and Piano for a drink - sat out on the deck in the evening sun, by the river. Once again, I'm feeling surrounded by glamourous people - some of the girls had on the coolest dresses!

We then went to a lovely french restaurant for dinner. It was brilliant. Vicky met us at the restaurant and we (me and Vicky) caught the tube back to Clapham South, and walked back to the flat. It is quite surprising, but it feels really safe wandering around at night.

On Friday I went to Canary Wharf with Vicky. We caught the underground in rush hour - yuk! How do so many people fit into such a small space. Canary Wharf is interesting, a little sterile. I didn't realise that there is such a massive shopping centre underground there. I had a wander round while Vicky had her interview.

We then went to Victoria where Vicky went to work at her agency. I had a phone catch up with Pete in Madrid and got his key tips for the trail. Sounds like it is going to be totally amazing. He loved his walk. If I finish up the trail early enough, I'll definitely try to head to Madrid to visit Pete for a bit. I then went up to Mark Kenderdine-Davies office to go for lunch with him. I reckon the last time I saw him was at his wedding with Mai - about ten years ago. It was wonderful to see him! And great to hear how much has happened with him in the last ten years. We had lunch at Wagamama's. It amazes me how well that restaurant concept works in London, but it doesn't really work well in NZ.

I have to say that I'm feeling very inspired by the people I'm meeting and hanging out with on this trip. Wonderful, intelligent conversation and so much generosity of spirit. Pete has been wonderful about helping me organise my trip to do the trail, and he was wonderfully welcoming offering me to stay with him in Madrid. And Mark was lovely to catch up with - very interested in me and what I have been up to. So nice.

Then went to see Mel Bagge in Clapham Junction. She has a new baby boy - Connor, and it was great to meet her man - Wayne. So good to see her too after so long!

Legged it home, got changed and then headed into Soho to meet Vicky for dinner and drinks. We had dinner at Dehesa - a wonderful Spanish tapas place. Then went to a bar and met some of Vicky's and Susan's friends. Good times!

Today is Saturday, one more sleep until Spain. We went to Balham for brunch (they don't really do great brunch here - one thing NZ beats the UK in) and then back to the flat.

Headed out just after midday to check out the School of Life, not too far from Kings Cross Station. We walked into a bit of a street party - it was fab! Had a wander around the street, picked up some yummy food, checked out the pantomine show, and then went to the School of Life for the session on 'how to be cool'. What a great place and a wonderful talk. It's kind of a school of philosophy - loved it!!!

We then wandered to Covent Garden, through Russell Square, and some side streets. Popped in to the London Review bookshop on the way. What a cool bookshop. Hooked up to a cafe. Sweet. Did a bit of shopping in Covent Garden - yeh!

Then back to Vicky's for some down time and to finish packing. Ready to go now - wohoo!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.147s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0692s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb