First day in London


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Balham
September 2nd 2010
Published: September 2nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Wow! Back in London after ten years! It's so great to be back! And already, after only a day I'm feeling pretty settled.

Slept in a little this morning and woke up feeling decidedly average - jetlagged! Had brekky and chatted with Vicky's flatmate Susan and her sister Chrissy. What cool chicks - both ex advertising and now into yoga and studying naturopathy! Very interesting women.

Once I got myself organized I headed out. Down to Vicky's favorite shopping street - Northcote Road. It was definitely the spot for the yummy mummy's around town, as Vicky had warned me. Everyone just seemed extremely well groomed and wealthy. Really nice spot. Popped into Starbucks for a while, figured out how to use their wireless and added some travel apps to my iPhone. Got a uk sim for my phone and sauntered down to clapham junction.

Wandered back to the flat via Wandsworth Common. Gorgeous, and the weather is amazing, sunny and warm, lovely.

About to have a nana nap, but before I do, a quick finish up on yesterday.

I got upgraded to business class on the flight from Singapore to Dubai. Omg! How amazing - gourmet food with silver service, a massaging chair, privacy, and the ability to lie down completely. Heaven!! I tell you, I fit into that environment so easily. I'm sure I'm meant to always travel that way!!! Oh, I wish!

Had a small amount of time at Dubai airport before heading off to London. Very sad to be back in economy class - I should have at least tried for another upgrade. Not the most fun trip - lots of crying children and I was totally exhausted when I got to London. Heathrow airport was awful! Rude people, hot environment, and the ques were insane! How can such a massive airport in such a sophisticated country be such a mess!!!

Caught the heathrow express to Paddington - easy and very pleasant. Then cabbed it to Vicky's.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0491s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb