Pre-France


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Essex » Colchester
October 20th 2010
Published: October 20th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Travel Blog - France #1
Bonjour! Actually for this entry is all about my predeparture plans and my quick visit to England. So just Hello for now I guess:

Pre-departure
I guess even before I left the US I had a pretty crazy little adventure. First I finished working at the fair. Yes people I still work at the MN State Fair 9 years after I started. This was my 7th year working there so I opened the booth… oooo hold on let me flex this finger that I used to turn the lock with the key I have to the booth.... yeah I know you felt that power right there. Naw it was pretty fun! I almost didn’t get sick of it. Almost. Afterwards I had some much needed prep time in the Twin Cities. I mostly shopped and cleaned along with a fairly awesome “going away party” hosted by my friend Aron, which really consisted of us eating pierogis with his roommate I just met and making crass comments/photos. Then Mad-town for a couple days to catch up with some old friends. Yay for pillow talking time with J Forbes (just like last summer!) and of course the farmer’s market with Brenna (it wouldn’t have felt like Madison without this). Then Chicago. Ladies night out with my improv hotties, which was hilarious cause we went from a bust of a karaoke night to a Polish dive bar. We probably didn’t need to go out at all cause we ended up at home with our 7 11 crappy food talking until all hours; needless to say it was fun. The only thing that sucked about Chicago was not being able to spend more time with Uncle Chris and Aunt Barb. I am happy we were able to have lunch after their ½ marathon (face poised in an impressed expression cause my legs probs couldn’t handle that), but more time would have been nice. Oh well at least I was able to spend the afternoon with Maia, “breaking in” my new shoes aka giving myself massive blisters right before I go on a trip where I will be walking constantly… yeah I’m an idiot there’s nothing I can say except Omg I like looked like super cute! Okay now I’m finally getting to where I left the US.

THE PLANE RIDE
Super long lines + oversized luggage < AWESOME FLIGHT ATTENDANTS
Yep you get the idea. We had some initial setbacks but the service made up for it. First the attendant at the gate did a bunch of work calling people to make sure that we had seats together (who the heck doesn’t want to trade a middle for a window? Apparently some dude named John Frankerton*). Then on the plane we began by joking with our flight attendant about helping us with our bags. His response “okay now I’ve done my job! Serve your own drinks and snacks! Thank you.” Oh British wit. I love it. Yes we would like ice and a slice with our drink, and yes I will have my tea with milk first, and HECK yes we will have a free (secret) baileys cocktails. Nice British dude, nice. If you had seen my face you would have seen this expression EASED. (Maura I hope you read this)
*name may have been changed/completely made up due to my lack of memory

England
London- expensive, snotty people who don’t like repeating directions, luggage issues. Nuf said we didn’t stay there long anyway. Long enough though for me to get yelled at by a café manager for first taking up too much room bc I had Maura and my stuff and second for staying there too long without spending enough money. Sorry I didn’t know courtesy cost money.

Colchester- Britain’s oldest recorded town. And Jo. Oh Mama Jo, how have I ever been able to manage without you? It was great. We went to see her teach a class and of course she had to put us on the spot by asking us questions about soil (graaa its been a while since I took ecology and I’ve never had geology so my answers were ummm intelligent but I feel like we were enough of a spectacle to the students that it didn’t matter). She also took around to explore a little bit of the city and the shore. Oh and clotted cream and preserves on scones with tea is pretty much the best thing ever. Sounds sketch but it is really good. A short visit but fun nonetheless. Can't wait to go back!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0357s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb