Incessant Wind and then....


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » East Sussex » Alfriston
August 29th 2012
Published: August 29th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Things started okay with one of the best breakfasts of the trip. Then I ran (not exactly) to the cornerstore for something for lunch as there would be no places enroute. The walk started uphill and up but gentle meaning I wasn’t gasping for breath just a slow, long, long climb. Then for the next hour we had intermittent sun and gray, decent temp and a breeze off the sea. As the wind picked up so did my repercussions from last night’s undercooked duck. I was hunting for bushy, tree places and there weren’t many. After a few quick stops while Ross acted as lookout my system returned to normal. Too bad the immodium was in the suitcase and not my backpack. As we climbed and walked across the escarpment the wind picked up. It literally picked up – anything in its path. I could hardly use the poles at one point because they kept blowing away. Not many other people out. Maybe they didn’t have the same ballast as me and they were blowing away – I noticed Ross was walking on the leeward side of me. Took me quite awhile to catch onto that. We couldn’t even shout at
to the seato the seato the sea

I kept looking at the sun and hoping the wind would get rid of the clouds
each other because of the incessant wind. Then after 4 miles of this wind I thought I should take a pic of Ross almost blowing away. As I set up the pic and looked behind me I quickly put the camera away and grabbed my Goretex. The Jaws of all clouds was bearing down on us. I tried walking faster but to no avail. We were drenched as we walked for next hour and a half. Finally got off the heights and out of the wind and then it was just regular rain all the way to a coffee stop. This time I shocked Ross because I ordered a cappuccino with a shot of Bailey’s. May become my favourite drink. Sadly we still had a 10 minute walk to our B&B after this relaxing stop. 35, 759 steps


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

the signthe sign
the sign

it was very easy for me to obey this sign
sunny lunch stopsunny lunch stop
sunny lunch stop

This was at Southease Village - a church and maybe 5 or 6 homes and a nice big park with benches. One of the very few bench places we've seen.
the 0 meridianthe 0 meridian
the 0 meridian

you'd expect a sign or something - maybe even an electrical shock as you passed over it.
the pantsthe pants
the pants

If you look at the pants you can see how they are blowing and the grin is being wiped off his face. The poles are planted to steady him. Tough walking here.
Jaws ThemeJaws Theme
Jaws Theme

It was much darker and ominous than the photo. It just kept following us and overtook us quite nastily.


Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 11; qc: 34; dbt: 0.0512s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb