The West Country


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Devon
July 20th 2007
Published: April 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

This morning I set out to explore the nearby fishing village of Clovelly, famous for its steep, cobbled streets and picturesque harbor. The village is closed off to vehicle traffic.

From the coast, I began to make my way south through the rolling countryside of Devon. Again, the Triumph was in its element. Long queues of vehicles stacked up behind slow moving farm machinery were dispatched with ease. By mid-afternooon, darkening skies were beginning to make their presence felt. I was sprinkled on a few times but continued to enjoy mostly sunshine. I passed through the Dartmoor National Park on my way south and on the the town of Totnes on the south coast of Devon.

Time was beginning to expire on my journey so I turned and headed north through the pastoral Devon countryside. Again, the Triumph was in its element. By now it was almost 4 P.M. and the showers continued to try to pen me in. Showers to the east blocked my path so, my only alternative was to head north on the M5 Motorway. I proceeded north, with blue skies ahead yet, the dark, ominous clouds in my rear view mirrors following me all the
ClovellyClovellyClovelly

The steep cobblestone main street of Clovelly leading down to the harbor.
way. Not wanting to end the trip one day early, I opted to take a hotel room just south of Birmingham in hopes that the weather forecast for the next day was wrong. I was hoping against hope that I might enjoy one last day of riding. Alas, I woke the next day to rains pelting down.

Time to pay the piper for all my frivolity. I suited up and headed back onto the motorway accompanied by steady showers along with the spray thrown up by the lorries. By the time I made it back to Nottingham, the rains had eased up. Down south though, the rains were wreaking havoc. I just made it into Birmingham on the last train before all the trains were cancelled due to the weather…a narrow escape.

Summary:

Total mileage: 950 miles in 3 days.
Puckers: 0
Police interaction: 0
Bee stings: 0
Drenchings: 1





Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Main StreetMain Street
Main Street

Looking back uphill in Clovelly.
Clovelly HarbourClovelly Harbour
Clovelly Harbour

Looking down on the small weir in Clovelly Harbor.
Fishing FleetFishing Fleet
Fishing Fleet

Fishing boats in Clovelly harbor.
Heading SouthHeading South
Heading South

Making my way south through the rolling countryside of Devon.
Dartmoor National Park.Dartmoor National Park.
Dartmoor National Park.

Passing through the Dartmoor National Park.
TotnesTotnes
Totnes

The arch spanning the middle of main street in Totnes.
Totnes ArchTotnes Arch
Totnes Arch

A close up of the Totnes Arch.
DevonshireDevonshire
Devonshire

The patchwork quilt that is the Devon countryside.
BickleighBickleigh
Bickleigh

The beautiful village of Bickleigh.


Tot: 0.188s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0722s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb