Berrynabour and beyond!


Advertisement
Published: July 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Ready to hit the waves!Ready to hit the waves!Ready to hit the waves!

Prepare to bodysurf ladies...
Well, it was off to Devon for the weekend with my girlfriends, Hannah (friend who got married in Feb), Emma, Bethany and Julie. I was the only non-family member that came along so it was special.

On Friday, we drove about 5 hours north to North Devon to a small village called Berrynabour, voted the best kept village for several years now. It's an award for the whole of England which is pretty darn good! We stayed in the Ducky Pool Cottage (Hannah's parents own it).

Saturday morning we got up rather late and didn't have much morning left, ate some breakfast and got ready for sea-bracing! We went to the seaside in Woolacombe for some bodyboarding, luckily we had wetsuits to keep us relatively warm. The weather was pretty crazy and ended up pouring but we made the most of the waves. We were apparently swimming in the Atlantic Ocean, really salty water. I caught 3 really good waves that took me to shore but the last one pulled me under for a while and that was enough. I had my fun and I was out. The beach was rather amusing to view, loads of tents and people covered in weatherproofs. We headed to the Old Red Barn where we got some warm drinks and I had some apple pie. I found out what a cream tea is (they are famous around Devon) - scone with cream/jam and a cup of tea. Makes sense doesn't it? I didn't end up getting one as we kept putting it off and then it didn't happen. Lots of unplanned adventures occurred so let me tell you about them!

We went to The Terrance, a spanish restaurant for a tapas dinner. It was a good time, enjoyed some awesome food as our fav. spanish spot in Whetstone closed down. After a couple hours there, we came home and got some rest for Sunday.

We were up early, got dressed and ready to go....FISHING> Yes. 5 girls went fishing oa so I was able to pull in more than 1 at a time. I was pretty giddy when I got all my fish! Yay. We enjoyed our 1.5 hr fishing expedition, catching a total of 19 and headed home for lunch. We froze most of the fish after cleaning them but managed to make a feast for lunch too. We went for an afternoon walk to Heddon's Mouth, pretty seaside views and then walked around the village Berrynabour. I was quite intrigued by all the of the flowerpot people...see the pics I've attached, they are self explanatory.

We went to the 6:30 informal worship service at one of the cathedrals in Ilfracombe, it was a friendly crowd of about 12 people. It was a nice time out together.

When we finally got home for the night, we had dinner of nachos, toasted marshmallows, fruit and green salad and chips. Snacks and a movie. We woke up early this AM, cleaned the house and got ready for the drive back to London. So, that was my weekend, lots of fun and great memories with the girls before we all head in our seperate ways over the next couple months. Hugs to you all, will update my other trips in the week. Chloe


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Peacocks at Hunters InnPeacocks at Hunters Inn
Peacocks at Hunters Inn

Near Heddon's Mouth


Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0856s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb