Quiet Reflections in Buttermere


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Cumbria » Lake District
August 9th 2012
Published: August 9th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I cannot believe that I only have one more walking day left. The weather turned out to be incredible and is forecast to be clear of rain until the Monday, at least. When like this, I know that the views are going to be amazing - and I wasn't disappointed. No wind, blue sky, green grass, fresh air - what more could I want!

Over the past few days, I'd noticed that the heather was beginning to flower, so therefore decided to wander up to Hay Stacks in the hope of a great view over Innominate Tarn.

So, headed straight up Scarth Gap after breakfast, stopping at the top for a water break, due to the already hot sun. Then it was time to scramble to the summit of Hay Stacks. Sure enough, I wasn't disappointed as the heather was just coming into flower. Coupled with the sun, blue sky and complete lack of wind, the scenery was incredible.

After a quick chat with some other walkers, I headed down towards Innominate Tarn and on to the ridge walk with stunning views across Buttermere to Blackbeck Tarn. Rebuilding the cairn to mark the almost invisible path across to the Brandreth West fence, I headed to Great Round How and, walking across the bog, made for the corner of the Brandreth West fence.

The route, on reaching the fence, was then straightforward and soon, I was sitting on the summit of Brandreth eating my lunch.

Although I so wanted to stay there in the sun, enjoying the views, I made for Grey Knotts and on towards the ruins of the Drum House. Finally, the long miners road brought me back down to earth - and the end of a brilliant day.

Just one more :-(


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



11th August 2012
Robinson

I would love to know what you have done to make these photos so picture perfect! I could stare at this one for hours - it is so relaxing and peaceful.

Tot: 0.137s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.1025s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb