It started off good but then the rains came ... again!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Cumbria » Lake District
August 5th 2012
Published: August 5th 2012
Edit Blog Post

It was a beautiful morning. No wind and the lake was like glass. Fluffy balls of white cloud drift between the mountains.

Unfortunately, there where dark clouds looming where I was. So I walked along Pike Rigg enjoying the last of the sun whilst a little heron stood sentry by the lake.

The path long Mill Beck was still a little muddy after last night's torrential rain but, once one the grass footpath up to Rannerdale, the ground was drier.

As I reached Whiteless Breast, I could hear the thunder peals around Great Gable (to the South West) and see the black clouds surrounding the peak. Near me, rain clouds were brewing so I made the decision not to attempt Grasmoor as this would add an additional hour and a quarter to the walk. Good choice as intermittent rain resulted in me donning and removing my waterproofs several times.

The rain stopped and the mist cleared as I continued up to the summit of Whiteless Pike. The cairn on the summit has seen better days!

As I walked across Whiteless Edge, the rain started again but this time seemed more persistent and I had to don full waterproofs. Continuing up to Eel Crag, the rain persisted and lunch had to be taken whilst getting wet!

The climb down from Eel Crag to Sail was slippery, but was nothing like the climb down from Sail to Sail Pass, which was definitely a scramble! Just as the walk was complete, the heavens opened and the torrential rain started. The day had come full circle.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.191s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 78; dbt: 0.1439s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb