Day of Rest


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Cumbria » Keswick
May 2nd 2007
Published: May 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

This morning we walked two miles from our hostel up to Castlerigg Stone Circle. It’s a stone circle just like Stonehenge only smaller. It was kind of neat to have our literature class in the rocks and to think about how they’ve been here even long than writing has. Some people danced in the circle last night (there was a full moon and it was May Day—how perfectly pagan), but I was took exhausted.

I’ve spent the day basically recovering, so there’s not a lot to say. I did some laundry and went to an internet café. For lunch, I bought a great pasty at this cute little bakery for only 90 pence and an ice cream cone with a “flake” in it. A flake is this candy bar that Cadbury makes. It’s like folds of chocolate dried into a bar shape. All the ice cream shops will stick one right into your ice cream for you, and it’s really good (except to crazies who don’t like chocolate).

I’m feeling kinda sick still, and between that and the sunburn, I don’t know if I’m going to be This morning we walked two miles from our hostel up to Castlerigg Stone Circle. It’s a stone circle just like Stonehenge only smaller. It was kind of neat to have our literature class in the rocks and to think about how they’ve been here even long than writing has. Some people danced in the circle last night (there was a full moon and it was May Day—how perfectly pagan), but I was took exhausted.

I’ve spent the day basically recovering, so there’s not a lot to say. I did some laundry and went to an internet café. For lunch, I bought a great pasty at this cute little bakery for only 90 pence and an ice cream cone with a “flake” in it. A flake is this candy bar that Cadbury makes. It’s like folds of chocolate dried into a bar shape. All the ice cream shops will stick one right into your ice cream for you, and it’s really good (except to crazies who don’t like chocolate).

I’m feeling kinda sick still, and between that and the sunburn, I don’t know if I’m going to be able to hike Helvelyn tomorrow. I may just ride in the van and rest instead.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



3rd May 2007

Greetings from the states!
Sorry to hear that you're ill. I'm sure you'll recover soon and have the time of your life:) Know that all of us literature crazies back in the states are uber jealous, and can't wait to read more about your travels. Peace out, Heather

Tot: 0.251s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1035s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb