jogle april 26th 2011 Carlisle to Carnforth


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Cumbria » Carlisle
April 26th 2011
Published: May 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Happy Birthday to me !!!49 years old today ...woke up in my b & B after a fitful night feeling more like 79 ! the bed was so soft it felt like i slept on a bean bag ..actually not slept , so off into am traffic i go destination Preston .
Out of Carlisle on the busy A6 .through High Hesket , toward Plumpton , i was feeling low / almost depressed , i dont ever get like this so I put bit down to fatigue , i was missing my wife /kids /dog and also being aware that my birthday would normally be fun filled family day i was a little bit pissed off!.
I rang home after recieving birthday texts , my wife said that during every challenge a low point would be reached and stay with it get through today and all would be well .
I almost hoped she would say "get on the train"..as I was cycling parralel with the railway and Penrith station was coming up..there was to be no easy out .
My day was about to improve , i heard another cyclist coming up alongside , it was Will Farbrother , one of the lads from day one ..he had been in Arran and came through to Carlisle via Carrutherstown, it was good to have company.
Shortly after Penrith we started the climb up Shap fell, the climb was steady and I was feeling better with the company as we bounced tales off each other about our journey so far.Shap summit was soon reached and after tightening every nut n bolt on the bike I hurltled down toward Kendal at 40+ mph !!! waay haay.😊
In Kendal we drew into the quaker tea room , this was a great lunch stop and we were both interviewed for a local magazine as to why we were riding and our charities .Will was raising funds for wateraid and myself for Winstons wish.
Leaving Kendal on the A 6070 is due South and bouyed by the lunch and a laugh we made good time as far as Carnforth , it was here that I made the choice to stop early and plan to go out early tomorrow to make up the time /distance , i was shattered and this lookked like a great campsite.Brand new bar /restaurant/showers etc, made this a luxury camp. the owner also only charged for 1 tent as our tents were so small(terra nova laser comp)( North face tadpole ) a couple of birthday beers and a good meal ..i slept like a baby .
just as well as a long day awaits ,with an early start.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.228s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0391s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb