Lazy Days :0)


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Cheshire
October 17th 2007
Published: October 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well .. we are now offically living at Doug's mum & dads ... or as we have renamed it 'Martin Towers!!!' We keep referring to Doug's mum and dad as Basil and Sybil which keeps us amused :0)

We have been off work for 3 weeks now and feel a bit lost to be honest. When you work full time you always dream about taking time out to do nothing - but in reality .. I am really bored. I think both myself and Doug have joined the 'lets do lunch circuit!' as that's all we seem to do these days.

Last week our old mate Dave Mac came up to Warrington with his girlfriend Clare from Bournemouth so as we don't get to see them that often we went out and got very drunk in a chinese restaurant - where I got a bit obsessed with the gold buddha statue and insisted that every time we passed it we had to rub its belly for good luck .. think I might have been a bit drunk or my taste in men has gone a bit weird ;0) I also was shown tricks by the waiters and how to flick matches without actually moving anything - I think by this stage though the wine was kicking in and I couldn't understand what he was saying and kept dropping the matches on the floor - however I did get us a round of drinks courtesy of the management so my negotiation skills are as good as ever!! In the end we cleared the restaurant and were the only ones left - not uncommon for us!

This week we sat down and compiled a list of what we want to do and see before we go to Oz. Top of my list was visit Jodrell Bank so that's where we started! Ever since I was a little girl I have been obsessed with space (see the nerdiness is coming out in me again!!) and when I couldn't go on a primary school trip to Jodrell in 1983 I always felt a bit deprived! I have to say that it was a magnificant structure but could do with a bit of modernisation - saying that I did make friends with the brilliant tour guide - Eric - who I think was a bit barmy but needless to say was full of life and made the 3D show a bit more exciting (you sat in a theatre with 3D glasses on and was transported to Mars all for a £1!!!). Eric kept referring to me as 'golden haired lady in row 2!' much to Doug's amusement who has since been calling me the 'the ginger minger in the back row'!!

On Monday we had to take the dogs to the vets for the blood tests for the first stage of exporting them out to Oz. We were worried sick about everything but had excellent notes from Airpets so went into the vets armed with all the information we needed to ensure that they had all the relevant injections they needed such as kennel cough. The vet nurse Claire was a bit upset as she has looked after Biscuit, our eldest dog, since he was a puppy through all his operations on his back so as she won't be seeing him again got a bit teary :0(

So now we are back on the list and are raring to go to a few more places before we leave. We have a visit planned to Bournemouth to meet up with Dave and Claire and the Lakes to see Doug's gran and sister .. so things are still all go although it is getting closer now!

3 weeks to go ... :0)








Advertisement



18th October 2007

Time will fly Jo - at least you are making most of your last few weeks !!! Speak soon, Sarah
25th October 2007

Hiya - Catch Up
Hiya Like Di said not long to go now can't believe you soon be off to the sunny side of Aus. I know we only got to know each other properly towards the end, but we did share some funny dog stories, you'll have to keep me posted on how their doing too. Luce has asked me to ask you if your coming to her leavng do on Friday. I'm pants at this type of thing but you are really missed. You take care x Kez

Tot: 0.204s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1352s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb