The realities of real life


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Buckinghamshire » High Wycombe
March 30th 2008
Published: March 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well time has come to face up to the fact that the dream is over and real life has to take over again.
Lots of questions remain unanswered but even more have been answered. Life all of a sudden becomes more real and seems to make a hell of a lot more sense. Things seem to be put in to perspective. Don't know what I am talking about? Try taking a period of time out of normal every day life and take a step in to the big scary old world and you may start to comprehend where I am coming from.
I think now that I spent 24/7 with my family for over six months in the very strangest situations and countries it makes you realise what is important and what makes you happy. Well you lot may not but it has made a huge difference in my life.
Travelling was the biggest unachieved want in my life. It was also the scariest thing in the world. Now after having been it seems to be the most natural thing to do.
I agree whole heartedly with Chloe's sentiments of getting fed up with people who have no understanding or comprehension of other peoples cultures and ways of life. You do get a bit embarrassed and annoyed with people who just don’t get it and think that because they are from the first world and that they have some money the rest of the world should bow to their dominance. The strange thing is it don’t matter if you are on you own doorstep or the other side of the world you meet people like that.
I am sure this may sound conceited to some of you but its just the way I feel.
Well has it made any difference to me? Yes like you would not believe. Would I do it all again? You betchya. Would I change anything? Yes, I would only take half the amount of rubbish that we took with us.
Did I enjoy myself and would I recommend it to friends? Yes and yes. It is a strange thing but it affects different people in different ways. It took me very little time to get in to the idea of not having a home for a period of time. I missed it massively but I also realised that it was not for ever and in the grand scheme of things it is actually a very short time.
I have noticed that the people that we have met in this world with the least amount of money and possessions seem to be the happiest and also the nicest.
When it comes to the details ignore what the books say and go with what feels right, cos it is usually.
I am now back in work and the daily grind, it is a little bit of a come down from what will always be one of the most memorable periods of my life.
Thanks to those of you who made it so, you know who you are.
Oh yeah and don’t play Soduku because it is horribly addictive!!!!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.161s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0641s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb