Berkshire: Donnington and Newbury


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Berkshire » Newbury
July 26th 2008
Published: July 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Last week, I went on the train to Newbury. My aim was to see Donnington Castle as I have a passion for old dramatic buildings and ruins... I did manage to get there but it is a 40 min walk from the railway station, more than I thought. Unfortunately I didn't get much time to see Newbury but I will come back one day and take the photos, Newbury deserves...

Newbury is the principle town of West Berkshire but is probably most famous for its racecourse. The Kennet and Avon Canal, a man made canal which is 92 km long canal, connecting the River Kennet and the River Avon, flows through Newbury and together with Victoria Park the canal forms a lovely green area right in the town centre.

Donnington Castle is situated just north of Newbury. It was built in the 14th century by licence given by King Richard II. The Castle had a very strategic position as it was built where two main roads met, one in north-south direction (Oxford-Southampton) and the other east-west direction (London-the West Country). The main aim with building the castle was to guard and protect the nearby roads.

During the Civil War in the 17th Century the castle played an important role e.g. in the First Battle of Newbury but it was also the beginning of the end of it. After the war Parliament decided to demolish most of the castle and today only the original gatehouse remains.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



17th January 2011
Newbury Town Centre

my home town
Just enjoyed some memories of my home town which I left 20 years ago, visit as often as possible, now reside in Nottinghamshire....

Tot: 0.151s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 11; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0952s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb