Spoiled.


Advertisement
Ukraine's flag
Europe » Ukraine » Luganskaya Oblast » Popasnaya
December 30th 2005
Published: May 31st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Ana had her last day of lectures at university today, so she had left to get the bus for Lugansk before I got up.

I spent the entire day by her computer, writing in this diary. Every so often her mum would come upstairs to offer me some pears and mandarins or a glass of home made apple juice, and she made me a big lunch of golubtsy parcels with meat inside. I will probably leave something behind when I go back to Yaroslavl, but I'm certainly not leaving without the recipe for her apple sponge cake.

I had a chat with her babushka in the afternoon. For a woman of 80 she is remarkably full of life and has a very cheeky sense of humour. Again I wish I understood more of what she says to me but it is a difficult voice to get used to. Luckily four months in Russia has taught me when to say "yes" at the right time, and the right head movements for the right type of question.

When Ana got back I was still in my pajama bottoms, but I got ready for dinner. I ate a lot of everything, and sampled a sweet red wine from the Kovalchuk vineyard. Myself and Ana chatted again for hours at night.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.249s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 7; qc: 57; dbt: 0.2014s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb