First day...almost done!


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland
June 24th 2012
Published: June 24th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hello family and friends!

Today was our first full day with the kids, and I have to say, it's a pretty good group. It is my opinion, however, that the world needs to watch out for Russia. Not because of missiles or communism or light things like that.....but for 12-year-old boys. I'm serious. If Russia used the resources of their 12-year-old boys, they would conquer the world in a matter of days. There is just no reasoning with them. They do what they want! This is a very serious matter. Don't let Russia know that they have an untapped terrorist weapon on their hands, they might unleash it.

We had a FANTASTIC first night with our girls in the dorm. We didn't have a single "cryer" or "loner" the whole night. I set up a Connect Four tournament bracket, and the kids had a lot of fun. We also pulled up youtube and the girls showed us their favorite songs from their own country. It was a good bonding night. Tonight we have "egg drop", which sounds crazy but is actually a blast. I have been practicing different team cheers in my head for the last 24 hours. We are given random stuff like plastic cups, balloons, string, tissues etc., and we have to create a contraption that holds an egg. This contraption, along with the egg, are dropped off of a balcony. Whoever has an egg that survives the drop gets a big point bonus. You also get points for your team cheer and name. I'm looking forward to it.

Regardless of potential missed job opportunities back home, I'm certain this trip was the right choice for me. I'm feeling more comfortable and confident as a leader and teacher every day, and I am actually looking forward to having my own classroom. This was everything I needed.

Love to everyone at home, I hope you are having a nice summer despite the weather!

Andrea

P.S. Tomorrow I also start working with the "orchestra" that will probably be made up of five pianos, a violin, a clarinet, and a trumpet! YES!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.144s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0484s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb