Bahnhofstrasse Zurich


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland
July 18th 2009
Published: July 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hi again,

That was a long break. The main reason for that was that I did not do that much. Just stayed in Zurich.
I am not on a vacation afterward. :-)
I am trying to finish one part of my research that I have been working on it for the past few months. And to be honest, here in Zurich (ETHz), I could do much more than I thought and I am hoping to at least finish the two dimensional version of the code before I could start my real vacation and head back to US. So, if you got stuck somewhere in your research, just gentley ask your adviser to send you outside somewhere where you do not have that many people that you know. To be more effective, the language they speak is also not known to you. And hopefully, you will finish your job just on time.

Anyhow, for the past few days, it has been like heaven and hell. The weather is just crazy. Some days it just rains like it pours. Some other days it is so sunny, nice and warm that you should take shower 2-3 times aday. Humidity is also another
BahnhofstrasseBahnhofstrasseBahnhofstrasse

Still the rainbow.
factor.
Last week, I went to the Bahnhofstrasse (a word by word translation would be :Train Station Street").
According to Wikipedia, this is one of the most expensive avenues in the world. I guess you do not need to be an expert to realize it only if you walk along it once.
This street starts from the main train station in Zurich and ends at the Zurich lake.
It is only a 15 minutes walk. Evertime I was there, I could see many people. I would compare it to a downtown-type area.
I could not find any restaurant at the sides. Generllay, the food is expensive. With those prices in this particular street, I can imagine that would cost you and arm and a leg just to have a meal there.
It is funny that some stores have 50% off "sales". And guess what, from 1,000 CHF to 500! Good luck. :-)

I was lucky that I could see a rainbow too. This happened when I walked there the day before. So later when you see the pictures, they are from two different times.

At the end of the street by the lake, there was a market for
BahnhofstrasseBahnhofstrasseBahnhofstrasse

The Zurich lake area.
a lot of things. You could find a lot of antiques, books, old books, statues and etc. Interestingly enough, I saw a guys selling used DVD's and I two DVD's. That kept me busy for two days at least.

I just tried to take some pictures of the people, stores, and whatever I found interesting. I think my favorite ones are the pictures of people and their real life activities without their attention.

For now, I will go.
I have some other pictures from two of my friends who came to Zurich to visit me. Krisitin and Philipp. I will try to come back sooner this time and upload those pictures too.

Ciao,
Momo



Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

BahnhofstrasseBahnhofstrasse
Bahnhofstrasse

Lucky to see the rainbow
BahnhofstrasseBahnhofstrasse
Bahnhofstrasse

Yes, the fine persian carpet.
BahnhofstrasseBahnhofstrasse
Bahnhofstrasse

I like the apartments and houses here. Plants and flowers.
BahnhofstrasseBahnhofstrasse
Bahnhofstrasse

Again the rainbow and people trying to take picture
BahnhofstrasseBahnhofstrasse
Bahnhofstrasse

The organization of the store is interesting. I would say it is how I would describe it as European style.
BahnhofstrasseBahnhofstrasse
Bahnhofstrasse

Discounted prices. :-)
BahnhofstrasseBahnhofstrasse
Bahnhofstrasse

In this city that you have to pay for a lot of things, drinking water for free on the streets at different locations.
BahnhofstrasseBahnhofstrasse
Bahnhofstrasse

The Zurich lake area.
BahnhofstrasseBahnhofstrasse
Bahnhofstrasse

The Zurich lake area
BahnhofstrasseBahnhofstrasse
Bahnhofstrasse

We choose to go to the moon...
BahnhofstrasseBahnhofstrasse
Bahnhofstrasse

Anybody wants to buy me a gift?


Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0409s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb