New Year at Club Med


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-West » Leysin
December 30th 1989
Published: October 26th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I happened on a great deal from Club Med for a ski week at their club at Leysin, Switzerland, where the kids were free and Linda and I were half price.

So from Saturday, December 30, 1989 through Saturday, 6 January 1990 I spent a week skiing while Tamara and Rosanna participated in the children's club that included some very elementary bunny slope skiing, and Linda watched Will, who was too young for their children's club.

When I say I skiied, I perhaps overly exaggerate. The snow conditions were not ideal, and I had to exchange my skiis halfway through the week when the metal edge came loose from hitting a rock.

I joined an English speaking class; the other option was French. In reality both were French because our instructor didn't know any English. I was the only native English speaker in the group; the rest being Flemish Belgian. One of the Belgian women who had worked for the World Bank in Washington, DC translated, but rather than translating from French into Flemish, she translated into English which we all knew. That was very kind of her and the rest of her group, and also pretty usual for Flemish Belgians who mostly know English and would rather not speak French. Anyway, we had a great time as a group despite the ski conditions.

After skiing each day I returned to my family. We had dinner together and each evening there was some form of entertainment. One evening the kids put on a show which they had been practicing most of the week.

We enjoyed our week, even Linda and Will, who got time to relax and read.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.605s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 60; qc: 196; dbt: 0.2588s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.7mb