Wedding No 3: Switzerland


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-West » Leysin
October 6th 2007
Published: December 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I was never so much into weddings, yet here I was, flying back to Switzerland to celebrate our third wedding. Adam and I got married in Telluride, Oct 26th, with just our parents. So, we felt that we should do a wedding reception with his side of the family in New Hampshire (happened in Feb 2007) and one with my side of the family and my friends in Switzerland. We set the date for Oct 6th.

Adam was in Switzerland when I arrived there from Seattle. He had just finished his Alpine Guide Course in Chamonix and had been in Switzerland for already three weeks. My parents had organized everything for the wedding and the only thing left to do was to buy something to wear for the bride -aka- Me!

My parents had rented a little chalet where people could sleep at after eating at the nearby restaurant “Les Fers”. We had people meet us there for the “apero” starting at 5.30pm. By the time we arrived, the sun had disappeared behind the mountains and it was chilly! But the guests had made an aisle so that we could each do the traditional thing: walk down the aisle
The chaletThe chaletThe chalet

Inside the chalet: people slept upstairs
with respectively my Dad and his mother. I had always wanted to share that with my Dad and this was a great opportunity to make this little dream come true.

We then had the people gather around us and we told the story of how we met (Adam in English and myself in French). Boy was it hard to speak! I think I started crying before I could even say a word. There were lots of people in the crowd that I hadn't seen a long time and others who surprised me by coming when I thought they were not coming. Suddenly, I was overtaken by a wave of intense emotion. Being there with my family and friends and expressning my love to my husband felt like a very special time in my heart. We also seized the occasion to renew our vows, as this was almost our one year anniversary. Adam was in tears, I was in tears and everyone else in the crowd joined us in this "emotional release". I hadn’t realized before then, how important it is to share such meaningful times with people you care about. I am grateful I was able to share this
Pole dancingPole dancingPole dancing

Watch that hand now!
time with my family and friends.

This "ceremony" felt like we were truly getting married again. We then celebrated with champagne, and a nice dinner at the nearby restaurant. My parents had found musicians playing on the street the week prior and they came to play at the wedding, which added a lot to the wedding. And then came the big surprise: we were all asked to go outside the restaurant, where something special was about to take place: my oncle, JB, had organized a truly real firework! We just coulnd't believe our eyes. All that, just in the name of our love!!!

Later, we all went to bed in the little chalet we had had the apero in. Since I don't get to see friends and family very often and since weddings are never the best time to talk with everyone, I was really happy that people slept over so that we could spend more time together.

The next day, as we all lingered in the sun, my heart was shining brightly with love, happiness and greatful of these people in my life!

A special thanks to my parents, Adam’s parents (first timers in Europe!) and for everyone who came from far away and made this the best time ever!



Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Special timesSpecial times
Special times

Walking down the aisle with Dad
Ceremony and tearsCeremony and tears
Ceremony and tears

After the vows, in tears...
FamilyFamily
Family

French family connection
The dark haired girls!The dark haired girls!
The dark haired girls!

jenni, velika, virginie
Esther&OlivierEsther&Olivier
Esther&Olivier

They surprised us in Telluride, they surprised us in Leysin! We didn't expect them and they were there :-)
FionaFiona
Fiona

Fiona representing the blonde haired girls!
Papi et MadelinePapi et Madeline
Papi et Madeline

A special photo as he has since then passed away :-(
Young love!Young love!
Young love!

My sweet nephew, Jonathan, seducing Noa...
Adam and the mums!Adam and the mums!
Adam and the mums!

Adam, his mum, my mum


Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.032s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0389s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb