High from Amsterdam to Geneva


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-West » Geneva
June 12th 2011
Published: June 12th 2011
Edit Blog Post

There is always something crazy about Amsterdam. Even when you try to be straight and stay away from the unfamiliar, something is going to pop out. It is now the allergies season. We are on our way out of Holland when I have the smart idea to go to the toilette. My target: a paper roll. This is when I noticed a small pack of tissue in between the rolls. I decided to bring it back to our seat a bit proud of my catch. I give it to Chloe and she put it in our bag. An hour later, she started sneezing again and reached to her bag to get the pack. This is when she realised the bag smells marijuana. We are now passing the German border and the army is coming in the train to inspect it. We have a pack of tissue full of weed and there is no way someone will trust our story. Chloe started running to the toilet and threw it in the garbage just on time. By this time, I see a lady getting out of the bathroom piss. I guess I really blow up her afternoon. Amsterdam is another world and that is how we like it.

Amsterdam is beautiful. I love strolling in the street and enjoy the laid-back life of his people. Things are easy. I would love to have a boat house in one of the many pretty canals. Amsterdam has this perfect mix of green space, culture and night life. There is much more than the coffee shop and the red light district. I like this part of the city. I think it makes Amsterdam what it is. A beautiful, laid-back and very liberal city. I love Amsterdam!

So, we were on our way out of Holland... on our way to Austria. We had to make a couple stop in Germany, a country we like a lot and has amazing beer. First stop Cologne. The only thing I knew about the city before stepping in it was the Cathedral. It is a beautiful building and you cannot really miss it, it is straight in front of the train station. Going up is a good workout. After a great pik nik in one of the many park of the city, we go on a mission to try many of the beer gardens and halls. Again, very nice. We both love the atmosphere of having a cold drink with people from all ages and cultures. The only problem: the beer in Cologne are small, very small. We then experience our first problem using couchsurfing. Three hosts in a row canceled and we had to change our plans completely. We spend two days in Frankfurt am Main and the surrounding. Again, we did what is best to do in Germany, eat sausages and taste the beers.

Next stop, Bavaria. One of the most beautiful region of Europe. Great mountains, great beer and all the craic you ask for. We went back to Fussen and did some hiking. This time the place was less foggy and we got to see a meter in front of us. We then made a little detour to one of my favorite cities in the world, Munich. The temperature was pretty bad, but we enjoyed our favorite places.

We finally arrived to Salzburg. We had only time to visit two cities in Austria this time. Salzburg is an older version of Quebec city. A castle, a funicular and old narrow streets. Chloe really wanted to visit the city to see some of the Sound of music movie location. I have to admit I really like the visit of the water games park. It is crazy to think they built all this so long ago. The theater is a piece of art. We also walk in the gardens and enjoy some time with our host and his mates. Innsbruck was very different. The mountains and the Olympic villages, some great street musicians and again some more mountains. Innsbruck on a sunny day is stunning. I would love to visit it again during the winter. I like my hike in the mountain and the visit of the Olympic installations.

Then, we visited the country I was looking forward the most to see, Swiss (way easier to write). We skip it two times and were not about to do it a third time. Some parts of it keeps you with no words. Davos is ugly, but the villages in the mountains are crazy. Chloe stand it front of a window for two hours watching the view and the white mountains. We played with kids and walk in the surreal of the being the head in clouds. Zurich was completely different. Everything is expensive and classy. Lausanne is my favorite place in the country. A mix of great mountain and a great lake. We walked in the Lavaux and enjoy some wine in the many wineries. Stunning!!! I will write about Geneva and the rest of the country more in details next time, but you got to see it one time in your life.

Till then,

Nick



Additional photos below
Photos: 49, Displayed: 25


Advertisement



Tot: 0.411s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 24; qc: 106; dbt: 0.1493s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb