Getting Set Up.


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-West » Geneva » La Plaine
August 21st 2011
Published: August 21st 2011
Edit Blog Post

Door to the classroom.Door to the classroom.Door to the classroom.

Here is my name plate for my new class in Chancy.
Isabelle and Myles are so cute. Isabelle has been saying the following line about various kinds of foods - "I like grapes, only a little bit, not very much, only a little bit." She says this while tilting her head and raising her eyebrows. Ok, maybe only I think that it's cute.

Myles on the other hand is our little kisser. He will often be seen randomly walking up to someone and then he will suddenly kiss them. This happened in Nice. We were walking down one of the narrow streets in Vieux Nice and Myles walked up to a lady that was sitting at a restaurant table outside and he kissed her on the arm. Also, today at church, Myles found a little boy about 3 and 4 and kissed him at least 5 times. At least he's a lover.

Today, we ventured into downtown Geneva again and went to church. The difference this time is that we didn't get lost - because we took the bus and walked. You have a lot more time to make decisions when you are walking! We found an English speaking church called the Evangelical Baptist Church of Geneva, or EBCG for
Classroom.Classroom.Classroom.

View from the rear of the class.
short. We absolutely loved this church. It was so neat being there. At this church, there are easily 40 different nationalities represented. And boy did we pick a great Sunday to attend. It turns out that after the service, they were having a newcomers lunch. Woo-hoo for us! We felt really welcome at the church and it was great interacting with people from Sri Lanka, Ghana, U.S.A., South Africa, Kenya, Guyana, Switzerland, England, Holland and Malawi, among other nations. I think that we have found our church home for the year.

Lastly, I have been going into my new school over the last couple of days to try and get oriented. I have to say that I have a great feeling about my new school, my colleagues and my classroom. I look forward to starting the year, even though I am somewhat nervous about teaching in a different country. However, I have faith that everything will work out.

Today went by without a hitch, as did yesterday. We are on a roll. Tomorrow I will go into to school and do some work and we will try and get Avery enrolled into a French course. Also, we are
Classroom as well.Classroom as well.Classroom as well.

View from the front of the class.
looking at having Isabelle join a daycare for 2 half-days a week so that she can learn more French while we are here.

Good night and blessings on all of you.

Jarod



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Isola 2000.Isola 2000.
Isola 2000.

A picture from the playground in Isola 2000. I don't think that this showed up on the blog I did a while back.


Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0561s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb