Dreaming of a White Christmas


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » North-West » Lucerne
December 24th 2005
Published: December 25th 2005
Edit Blog Post

GrindelwaldGrindelwaldGrindelwald

Home sweet home for the next little while...
Usually for me, Christmas is a long, warm day at the start of summer, with family around, lots of time spent at the beach and enjoying the beginning of the festive summer holiday season. This year îs a little different...

In Switzerland, the days are short; it's dark by 5pm, there is snow on the ground and a bite in the air. Armed with my new selection of Moroccan winter clothes and stepping of an Easyjet flight from the warmths of southern Spain into a dull grey, cold and foggy Basel day, I found myself immediately questioning my sanity or lack there-of...

But, it was not long before I found myself in the warm clutches of some of my great friends here and I suddenly remembered all the reasons I had come back for Christmas. With a fresh coat of snow, everything is ready for a beautiful white christmas. And there really is something special about the gathering indoors and taking refuge from the cold outside to spend time together - kinda puts the whole christmas meal and tree in the living room thing in perspective for me! To gather with special people and share time is what it
Shrine...Shrine...Shrine...

Impressive Eiger with church in foreground
is all about, and for that I am lucky to have great people all around me and I am stoked!

From Boxing Day (the day after christmas), I start work as a Ski instructor for the winter in Grindelwald, which should be fun considering I would describe myself as a high-end beginner with a tendency to ski like a giraffe! But, it should be a fun and beautiful place to spend a bit of time and push myself into the realm of an intermediate skier...

Have a great christmas period and I wish you all happy celebrations with much food, music and laughter...


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.313s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 29; qc: 133; dbt: 0.1173s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb