One Night in Switzerland


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » North-West » Basel
June 9th 2005
Published: November 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Where on Earth?!

Basel, Switzerland.

So after the revelries of the final night with the football lads in Germany, I hoisted my weary limbs up out of bed early in the morning and said cheero to my roommate Pete. From there, I walked to the train station and caught a train back into Frankfurt, where I caught one of the flagship Deutshe Bahn ICE trains and whooshed through the countryside of South West Germany and across the border into Switzerland and Basle. Felt a bit like the real Steve McQueen, except of course there was no motorbike or ensuing blood-thirsty soldiers.

Basel was one sleepy ol' town and a couple of days wandering around the quaint and time-preserved old quarter gave me a good feeling of 'getting away from it all'. There were several sleepy little courtyards nestled away here and there where folk would peacefully sit and enjoy the silence or read a book. Another quirk of Basel were the amount of fountains everywhere, fonts made out of everything and anything - bizarre!

Disappointingly, no alps, no mountains and no Mt Eiger. Note to self: check Zurich out next. Good chocolate though, I've never Duty-Free'ed as much Milka in my life - awesome.


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

The German ICE Train.The German ICE Train.
The German ICE Train.

Best train I've ever been on. Has a facejob like Faceman's Corvette in the A-Team
Room With a ViewRoom With a View
Room With a View

...from my hotel room


Tot: 0.293s; Tpl: 0.024s; cc: 39; qc: 149; dbt: 0.1576s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb