Gothenburg, Sweden


Advertisement
Published: August 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Finally, the big summer trip has arrived, just as I mastered saying the 10 countries we are travelling to. This trip was definitely going to be different than the previous trips to India/Nepal, Vietnam/Cambodia, South America....this time we went to Northern Europe on a road trip including camping and couchsurfing (www.couchsurfing.org). Daddy's main reason for choosing this trip was that it was time to get rid of his 1996 torn up Honda Civic and buy a new car....and why not by a volvo "car with no top" through their "overseas delivery program". What a deal.......Here is what it included:

1. 2 free tickets to Gothenburg Sweden.
We flew SAS and even got to use this really cool room at the airport with free drinks/food during our 4 hour layover in Newark. I had fun there and met some people from Sweden.

2. 1 free night at the Radisson
We got picked up at the airport and taken to this big hotel which had a giant red pepper in the room that i thought was really cool

3. Factory Tour
This was really fun. They picked us up and drove us to the factory where I put on safety goggles, went around on a tram and saw a bunch of "Wall-E's) making cars.

4. Swedish Meatball Lunch
It was yummy.

5. The Car with No Top
The car was very cool. Daddy got it for much cheaper price than it was in the USA and they then let us drive it around Europe for a month and even provided insurance, and free shipping back to USA.

More on the incredible trip in my following blogs, but let me tell you about the Gothenburg. The first day we arrived, went on a boat ride around the city that passed under many bridges. At one point we all had to duck down in the boat so we didnt hit our heads. I thought that was pretty funny. I really liked the building that looked like lipstick In the afternoon we met Jenny. Daddy met Jenny on couchsurfing.org and she was going to host us on our last night in town 1 month later. It was great to meet her for the day though we were both very jetlagged. We went to a park and had ice cream. She was very nice and i looked forward to seeing her at the end of our trip.

Our second day we went to the Universarum which was a museum for kids. I saw animals, raced with my daddy, played the drums, got behind the wheel of a Swedish police car, and many other things. We then went to Liseberg which is like a mini disneyland. I had a lot of fun there, as well, going on rides and seeing there cute mascot...a rabbit.

After Liseberg we took a taxi to our first couchsurfers house. Daddy and i have hosted some couchsurfing couples in miami but we had never "surfed". We stayed with the Jakobsons. They had 2 kids just a little older than me. I instantly hit it off with the kids and played with them for hours while daddy had a great time talking and drinking wine with their mommy and daddy. They cooked us an incredible dinner. I hated to leave them the next day, but it was time to pick up the car and head off to Oslo. They gave me the most interesting coloring book I had ever seen. Really funny pictures. I liked it so much that I did
SAS LoungeSAS LoungeSAS Lounge

Great place to relax before our long flight!
not want to color it, but just tell stories about each funny picture. I could already tell I was going to like this couchsurfing experience.



Additional photos below
Photos: 29, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Couchsurfing is Cool!Couchsurfing is Cool!
Couchsurfing is Cool!

My first experience with the Jakobson's was awesome
Arriving at HotelArriving at Hotel
Arriving at Hotel

SAS Radisson
What a MealWhat a Meal
What a Meal

Dinner at the Jakobson's
Nice GlassesNice Glasses
Nice Glasses

Volvo Factory Tour
Tribute to Michael JacksonTribute to Michael Jackson
Tribute to Michael Jackson

He died the week prior to us leaving
Get DownGet Down
Get Down

This bridge was so low everybody had to get on the floor
DrumsDrums
Drums

wonder if daddy would by them for me to have in the house


20th October 2009

I read about that delivery thing in a book.... honeymoon with my brother?? something like that.. anyways too cool!! totally jealous of both the car and the trip!!
10th May 2011

I had never heard of the whole get a car thing! It sounds like an awsome and original trip! And what a nice car! I hgave a friend who couch surfs his way around the world but as a single mum with child, I always wondered how safe it was, is there a special section for people with kids or how do you do it? I like the frog!!!

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0223s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb