Lesson One: Embrace Bad Hair


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden » Östergötland County » Linköping
September 1st 2010
Published: September 1st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Gamla Linkoping was fabulous! Of course the moment we arrived it started to absolutely pour but we tried to navigate our way around regardless. It really is funny that once it starts raining everyone takes cover here- hiding in the little shops and things. I think it's funny because it rains so often here you would be stuck inside constantly if you tried to hide from the rain. Umbrellas aren't even really all that helpful as I find it often blows sideways so you're soaked regardless. I've learned to embrace my bad hair.

I have also discovered the secret to why so many Swedish people are as thin as they are! First of all I've done so much walking since I've been here it's insane. Also, while we walked around Gamla Linkoping we came across this huge gazebo and there was a live band and people dancing. So many Swedes love to dance!! Each song seemed to have it's own dance and everyone just knew what to do. It was really cool to watch. This is the second time in a week that I've come across random dancing in public places. I kind of like it.

Today was an exciting day for me as I went off to my first day of school- sort of. I've learned that they do a 'soft start' here to give everyone the chance to sort out their schedule. It gets complicated because you can only really take a course or two at a time so they dont overlap. There aren't set times for lecture, it is more when a professor is available in any given week. I am doing a program on the Nordic Model and Nordic Culture and within the program there are five partner schools so they call on professors from those universities to fly in and be guest lecturers. What this means is some very long days for me. Because it is so costly they jam as much into the one day as possible so there are double lectures (10-12 and 1-3). Our first is a man from Norway. I think there is another coming from Finland as well as one from Iceland. I have to admit it does seem pretty exciting!

Today our professor also told us about some basic rules for studying in Sweden like that you call your professors by their first names. How weird!! There are no exams for this course just final papers as the professor says she believes we are beyond that since this is a Master's course. She has also organized an excursion for us on September 15th. It's free because it's part of the course. We leave at 9am on a bus and we are taking a tour of the Western regions of Ostergotland including some historical sites and a medieval town. I think I am the most excited about that! Of course it's the day after our double lecture day so the class will probably be dying to get out.

Well I think thats about everything new to update. I feel like I'm currently undergoing my initiation into Sweden which comes in the form of me getting sick. With the crazy rain and weather that changes by the minute plus living with seven other people, it seems like an inevitable thing which is why I dont have more exciting things to report. More soon hopefully. Everyday is a learning curveball.

-R


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Me and my broken umbrellaMe and my broken umbrella
Me and my broken umbrella

Trip to Gamla Linkoping- rained the whole time!


2nd September 2010

wow
It all sounds great. I want to go on Sept 15th too! This is the most amazing experience for you. Hope you feel better soon. Don't forget honey and tea are great restoratives for colds! Talk to you soon. g
2nd September 2010

Hey Rhianna" Good thing I got you that other umbrella....I hope you DID take it with you. Thanks for the great blogs....I am sharing with others at the office. All is well there...LIsa is going crazy and misses you!!! Love....Wendie

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0287s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb